Skip to main content

RefWorks

Write-N-Cite version 4

Write-N-Cite allows you to link into your RefWorks account whilst using Microsoft Word, i.e. you can directly add in-text citations and then compile a bibliography at the end of your work. Version 4 is the version installed on the university pcs..


It can be a real time-saver but needs to used with care.

In order to use this feature, you have to download the Write-N-Cite program onto your pc.

(This had already been installed on the university pcs)

This program can be found in RefWorks under the Tools pull-down menu and selecting Write-N-Cite.

Accessing Write-N-Cite program

Follow the online instructions to load the program . 

Once you have downloaded the program you will notice that there is a RefWorks tab in the Microsoft Office Word ribbon. Click  on this Tab
.

RefWorks on Word ribbon

To login into Write-N-Cite, click on  Log In, then you need to paste in a code that appears on the Write-n-Cite page in your RefWorks account

Login box

Login code

The system will now sync to your RefWorks account.  The ribbon will look like this when logged in:


 RefWorks Word ribbon

Start writing up your document in Word and when you are ready to put in an in-text citation - Click on Insert citation - Insert New on the RefWorks tab of the Word ribbon

Adding an in-text citation

Your in-text citation should have been now inserted

In-text citation

When you are ready to create a bibliography:

Place the cursor in your Word document at the position you would like the Bibliography to appear

Choose a style that you would like your bibliography to be in e.g. Teesside University: Harvard Style (To get to this style you would need to click on Select other Styles first and select the style you need.)

Choosing a citation style

Click on Bibliography options - Insert Bibliography on the ribbon toolbar

Insert bibliography

 

Your bibliography should be automatically produced.

Loading

Instruction sheet on using Write-N-Cite