LibGuides: Business Subject Help: Company Information

Company Information - websites, databases, statistics, media resources and more

Britain's Top Employers
For over 20 years, Britain's Top Employers have published an annual list of companies rated "Top Employers". This free site provides access to the list, plus other resources. Useful for students researching companies for career/employment purposes
Companies House
Details of all limited companies in the UK
Fortune's Global 500
Annual ranking of the top 500 global companies. Produced by Fortune magazine
Kompass
Approximately 2 million companies listed by 54,000 product and service codes

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ulitmate is a business database, providing bibliographic and full text content for many academic business journals back to 1886 . Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME contains company accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management for the largest 2.6 million UK and Irish companies, plus summary information for a further 1 million smaller businesses. Very little textural information is provided.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Annual Reports
Current annual reports of publicly traded American companies
Northcote
A directory of UK companies, with links to annual reportswhich allows you to find company financial information. you can search by index (such as FTSE), by sector, by industry and there is a search option as well. It includes free annual reports.
Presision IR
Free annual reports (international)
Public Register Online
Register for free reports
ResponsibilityReports.com
Search 23,102 responsibility reports (including sustainability reports, corporate responsibility reports, corporate social responsibility reports, and ESG reports) from 4,332 global companies.

FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME contains company accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management for the largest 2.6 million UK and Irish companies, plus summary information for a further 1 million smaller businesses. Very little textural information is provided.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
FT.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times provides in depth coverage of UK and international business, finance, economic and political news. It also contains comment and analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access FT.COM go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access FT.COM you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FT.COM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Company Financial and Annual Reports on the Internet; RBA
A selection of internet sites gathered by one of the UK's leading Business Information Specialists, Karen Blakeman. The sites are evaluated and categorised before they are added to this site.
London Stock Exchange
Stock exchange in the City of London - the latest stock market news, stock information, data analysis reports & more
Morning Star | Share Prices, Stocks, Investing & Company Information
Financial information including FTSE 100 companies
NASDAQ
American stock exchange based in New York. It is the most active stock trading venue in the US by volume.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper.

Small medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are companies which are owned and run independently and are a key driver for employment.

Setting up a small business can be challenging, especially for those with no previous experience. However, expert advice and support is available via the internet:

HM Revenue & Customs
Starting a business - self-employment: detailed information.
ICAEW: SMEs
Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales help and support for setting up SMEs.
UK Government: setting up a small business
Advice from HM Government on starting and running a small business, including business plans, start up loans, tax, employees etc...

Online newspapers and news sites are an excellent way of finding up-to-the-minute details of a company's activities

NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.

Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

BBC News
Business news and current affairs from the BBC in the UK and around the world.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Information on global economics, companies and industries, politics and policy,
Reuters News: Business
Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news,