This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAn archive of many of the core research journals in the fields primarily of humanities and social sciences.
Current journal issues are not included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access JSTOR you must be either:
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the JSTOR licence can be found below.
USER RULES - JSTOR'S TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE
By using the JSTOR Archive you agree to abide by the following Terms and Conditions:
1. JSTOR hereby grants you a nonexclusive, limited license to use the articles and other materials in the JSTOR archive (the "Content") in accordance with these Terms and Conditions (the "License"). You may not sublicense, assign or transfer the License, and any attempt at such sublicense, assignment or transfer is void. JSTOR has obtained the right to provide the Content from the publishers of the journals contained in the archive, and copyright therein is retained by the publishers.
2. The Content is intended for the personal, non-commercial use of Authorised Users of the JSTOR archive. For information on Authorised Users and Permitted Uses contact your library or organization. Unless prior written permission has been obtained from JSTOR and the publisher of such Content, You may not download from the JSTOR archive an entire issue of a journal, significant portions of the entire run of a journal, or a significant number of sequential articles. In order to obtain an entire issue of a journal please contact the journal publisher. In addition, you may not (i) attempt to override, circumvent, or disable any encryption features or software protections employed in the JSTOR Platform; (ii) undertake any activity such as the use of computer programs that automatically download or export Content or otherwise burden the JSTOR server(s) or any third-party server(s) being used or accessed in connection with the JSTOR Platform; or (iii) undertake coordinated or systematic activity between or among two or more individuals and/or entities that, in the aggregate, constitutes downloading and/or distributing a significant portion of the Content. The restrictions on use of Content as set forth in this License shall survive any termination of the License.
3. Additional restrictions, or fewer restrictions, may apply to your use of certain Content. Copyright is not claimed as to any work of the United States government.
4. You must maintain all copyright and other notices contained in any Content in the course of any use of such Content.
5. The JSTOR Platform and any trademarks, issued patents and patent applications, copyrights and copyright registrations and applications, rights in ideas, designs, works of authorship, derivative works, and all other intellectual property rights relating to the JSTOR Platform and its participating libraries, universities, publishers, scholarly societies, and journals are proprietary to JSTOR or, as applicable, the aforementioned entities, subject to the rights of third parties pursuant to United States copyright laws, international conventions, and other laws. Other than as permitted above with respect to Content, you may not reproduce, publish, distribute, transmit, participate in the transfer or sale of, modify, create derivative works from, display, or in any way exploit, the JSTOR archive in whole or in part. You have no rights to the proprietary software and related documentation provided to you to access the JSTOR archive ("Access Software"). You may not copy, distribute, modify, reverse engineer, or create derivative works from Access Software.
6. JSTOR© and the JSTOR logo are trademarks of JSTOR. Your use of the JSTOR archive implies no right in these trademarks.
7. The JSTOR archive may contain links to or may be accessible from links within related or unrelated World Wide Web sites and resources. JSTOR is not responsible for the availability or contents of these outside resources. You should direct any concerns regarding any such link to its site administrator.
8. THE JSTOR PLATFORM, CONTENT, AND ACCESS SOFTWARE ARE PROVIDED ON AN "AS IS" BASIS, AND JSTOR AND ANY AND ALL THIRD PARTY CONTENT AND SOFTWARE PROVIDERS AND/OR LICENSORS (“CONTENT PROVIDERS”) DISCLAIM ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, CONDITIONS, OR REPRESENTATIONS OF ANY KIND, EITHER EXPRESS, IMPLIED, ORAL, OR WRITTEN, RELATING TO JSTOR, CONTENT, ACCESS SOFTWARE, OR ANY PARTS THEREOF, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY AND ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF QUALITY, PERFORMANCE, NON-INFRINGEMENT, COMPATIBILITY, MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS MAKE NO WARRANTIES RESPECTING ANY HARM THAT MAY BE CAUSED BY THE TRANSMISSION OF A COMPUTER VIRUS, WORM, TIME BOMB, LOGIC BOMB OR OTHER SUCH COMPUTER PROGRAM, EXCEPT THAT JSTOR WILL EXERCISE A REASONABLE LEVEL OF CARE TO PREVENT SUCH OCCURRENCES. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS FURTHER DISCLAIM ANY LIABILITY AND MAKE NO WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO THE CONTENT, INFORMATION, MATERIALS OR OTHER SERVICES INCLUDED IN OR OTHERWISE MADE AVAILABLE BY OR THROUGH JSTOR. YOU HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT USE OF THE JSTOR ARCHIVE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK.
9. You may not authorize use of the JSTOR archive by anyone who is not an Authorised User. You may not set up a proxy or anonymous e-mailer for purposes of allowing access to JSTOR.
10. You shall notify JSTOR of any known or suspected unauthorised use(s) of your account, if applicable, or any known or suspected breach of security, including loss, theft, or unauthorised disclosure or use of your password or IP address. You are responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your password, if applicable, and for all usage or activity on your account, including use of the account by anyone authorised by you to use your password. Any use of the JSTOR archive beyond the scope of the License, knowing use of the password of another, or any fraudulent, abusive, or otherwise illegal activity, may be grounds for termination of your account, or termination of access to JSTOR from your IP address, without notice and at JSTOR's sole discretion. The foregoing includes but is not limited to activity that may burden JSTOR's server(s) such as computer programs that automatically download Content, commonly known as web robots, spiders, crawlers, wanderers or accelerators.
11. In the event of violation of these User Rules by You, (a) JSTOR may suspend or terminate, or, where practicable, request that your Institution suspend or terminate, Your access to the Licensed Content; (b) JSTOR may suspend or terminate the access of the Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) or other authorization and authentication mechanisms from which such unauthorized use occurred; and/or (c) JSTOR may request your Institution to consider the imposition of further reasonable restrictions on access to, and downloading and printing from, the JSTOR Platform.
12. Where You are able to submit material and/or post comments on the JSTOR Platform, You represent and warrant that You will not upload or otherwise publish through JSTOR any materials that: (a) are protected by copyright, or other proprietary or intellectual property rights; (b) are libelous, defamatory, obscene, pornographic, abusive, or invasive of another’s privacy or hateful; or (c) contain a virus, spyware, or other harmful component, advertising of any kind, or false or misleading indications of origin or statements of fact. You acknowledge and agree that any material that You submit or comments that You post may be edited, removed, modified, and/or published by JSTOR without notice.
13. Use of JSTOR indicates acceptance of JSTOR’s Privacy Policy, available http://about.jstor.org/privacy as it may be amended from time to time. ITHAKA does not knowingly collect personally identifiable information from anyone under the age of 16. If it is discovered that we have collected PII from someone under 16 we promptly will delete that information.
14. This Licence shall be interpreted and construed according to, and governed by, United States Federal law excluding any such laws or conventions that might direct the application of the laws of another jurisdiction, and venue will lie exclusively in the federal and state courts of the United States, excluding any such laws to the contrary.
15. JSTOR may change these Terms and Conditions, or any aspect of the JSTOR archive, at any time.
16. If any provision or provisions of this Licence shall be held to be invalid, illegal, unenforceable, or in conflict with the law of any jurisdiction, the validity, legality, and enforceability of the remaining provisions shall not be in any way affected or impaired thereby.