Skip to main content

Coronavirus - Student & Library Services help and advice: Library information

Library opening

Middlesbrough and Darlington Campus Libraries are physically closed until further notice due to the Coronavirus situation, however Library services are still available online.

Please see the guidance below for Library help, information and guidance including virtual events.

Working off campus - Keeping up to date

Following the decision to suspend all face to face classroom teaching the information on this page will provide some useful Library help and guidance on how you can work effectively off campus.

 

The University Coronavirus update provides valuable advice to students and staff about the ongoing situation including the latest student updates.

Keep up to date at: 

https://www.tees.ac.uk/sections/about/university/coronavirus.cfm

 

Student & Library Services is still offering online and remote support for wellbeing, mental health, and finance related matters.  See details here https://www.tees.ac.uk/sections/stud/

Latest updates

  • Due to the impact of Coronavirus, the frequency of THE has been reduced to a fortnightly publication

  • You can now suggest ebooks for purchase using the More Books initiative
  • During the Coronavirus pandemic we now have temporary access to an even wider range of electronic resources
  • Middlesbrough Campus Library and Darlington Campus including the Library is currently closed until further notice
  • As from Tuesday 17 March no fines will be incurred on library loans until further notice. My Account shows any fines and charges you may have previously incurred, for details on how to pay fines see how to pay your fine

  • You may still receive automated email reminders, you can renew items online but if you can don't worry, email us if you need some help

  • The ILL service is currently not available, if you need help accessing resources email libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk and we will pass you enquiry on to the relevant person. Remember we have a wide range of content online, see Online resources below for guidance

Online resources

To enable easy access to databases, ebooks and journals available to you, please remember to always start your search from the Library homepage at: https://www.tees.ac.uk/library Although there is no recommended browser we do seem to find fewer issues using Chrome.

 

Use Discovery to find books, journal articles and conference papers for your assignments and research, you can access Discovery from Library homepage at: https://www.tees.ac.uk/library and for information about Discovery see https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/discovery

 

Do you need to know which databases (specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles) cover your subject area? Check the Subject LibGuides http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/subject_libguide You can access Databases from the link at the top Library homepage at: https://www.tees.ac.uk/library

 

During the Coronavirus pandemic we now have temporary access to an even wider range of electronic resources

 

Have you heard of PressReader? Students and Staff can access PressReader for free - over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, access from the Library homepage and use the Databases link at the top of the screen, you will find PressReader under P.

 

Directory of Open Access books and journals - DOAbooks.org & doaj.org lists thousands of Open Access peer reviewed books and journals which you can read and download for free

Can't find an ebook you need?

Whilst the Library is closed due to the Coronavirus situation you can suggest ebooks to be purchased by using the More Books initiative, use the link below to access the suggestion form.

If a book is only available in print format it will still be considered however it will not be ordered until the Library reopens.

Virtual Reading group

If you enjoy reading, join in our Reading Group. Whilst the University is closed due to Coronavirus we are holding a virtual reading group on Microsoft Teams.  We will be meeting fortnightly to discuss our current book title and also to check-in with each other.

The next meeting is on MS Teams on Wednesday 10 June at 2pm, when we will be reading Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson. Experience travel from the comfort of your own home, no packing required! This time we move into the genre of travel writing with Bill Bryson’s Notes from a small island. An entertaining and amusing look at the quirks of our island nation.

In order to access the Teams meeting please follow the link below. Once you have clicked on the link you will be able to join the meeting from there. Alternatively you can request to join the team by emailing Fran Porritt on f.porritt@tees.ac.uk

Click here to join

To find out more about the Reading group see https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/readinggroup

Contact us - Library

The Library building is currently closed. For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm (excluding public holidays) by:

  libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

  @TeesUniLib

  teesunilib 

  Teesside University Library

 

Library help live: Instant chat 4.45pm - 10.00am, 7 days per week at http://www.tees.ac.uk/library

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Elsevier free webinars

Connect with Scopus experts through our Scopus webinar series

Our webinars cover topics relevant to both Scopus users and librarians. Learn about best practices, content selection and coverage, metrics to track and understand research impact, and more. Scroll through our webinar channel, find a topic that interests you and register to attend. Even if you are unable to join the live session you will receive a link to the recording to watch at your own convenience.

Infectious Disease Outbreak Research: Insights and Trends webinar

You also find a recorded webinar from 30 March about “Infectious Disease Outbreak Research: Insights and Trends” which explains how research was conducted to uncover trends in outbreaks research, the various governmental bodies involved and the ways to identify health security research. This webinar was hugely popular, and we received >21k registrations to watch it live.

Click here for more information and to see webinars available

Support for Researchers

During this period of restricted travel due to the Covid 19 virus, 1-2-1 tutorials are available via remote access, please see https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/researchers

Please email Researchportal@tees.ac.uk if you have any queries related to the Research portal or need guidance on adding your outputs to TeesRep.

You can find help online at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/researchers

 

WHO

For information on the latest research developments the World Health Organisation (WHO) logs the latest research together with regularly updated myth busters.   Evidence and facts about the virus and its control are also available from the UKRI’s site Coronavirus: the science explained.

Digitisation Service

We are pleased to announce that the Digitisation service is now able to offer the following variations to the license up until the 30/6/20.

For participating publishers the extent limits have been increased to 3 chapters or 30% of a book. Please note that this only applies if  the book is owned by the library or the academic and is not available digitally. The completion of these requests will also be dependent on the team being able to access copies already scanned.

 

Online Learning & Teaching Support

There are plenty of websites available for both students and academic staff on how to learn and teach remotely.  A selection of them are highlighted in the ‘Online Learning Support’ reading list. If you know of any useful sites that can be added to the list please email the details to libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

Skills support

Take a look at the Learning Hub http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/learning_hub for help and support on topics relating to

  • Academic skills
  • Referencing
  • Advanced skills
  • Researching
  • Presentations
  • Writing

The Learning Hub contains lots of different types of resources which students can access independently at a time to support their studies.  These include:

  • Interactive online tutorials
  • Informative guides created by Sway or PowerPoint
  • Videos
  • Bitesize guides
  • Infographics and top tips

Learning Development - Virtual activities

Blog

Our Library Life blog brings you virtual help, hints and hacks as well as details of online support or future workshops. See https://blogs.tees.ac.uk/slssupport

 

Ask the Learning Hub

Students can ask questions and view answers online by posting on our new Learning Hub Padlet 

https://padlet.com/teessidelrs/learninghub 

Alternatively, send questions from a student email account to the Learning Hub on Teams using the address below:

f0ba5474.liveteesac.onmicrosoft.com@emea.teams.ms

The academic librarians will aim to reply by email within 24 hours, excluding weekends.

 

Succeed@Tees online workshops

We are planning a series of workshops to support student learning and assessment. Details will be posted on our Library Life blog and on the Learning hub calendar http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/learning_hub/workshops 

 

Tutorials

Tutorials (via email, Microsoft Teams, and other communication methods depending on access) are still being offered for academic writing, study skills, literature searching and referencing http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/lrs/tutorials