Skip to main content

Coronavirus - Student & Library Services help and advice: COVID-19 Research - freely available

COVID-19 Research

Published content made available temporarily (note this content relates to medical literature on Covid-19/Coronavirus)

Click on the resource name in the table below to access this freely available content.

For here for more information on Research support 

For information on the latest research developments the World Health Organisation (WHO) logs the latest research together with regularly updated myth busters.   Evidence and facts about the virus and its control are also available from the UKRI’s site Coronavirus: the science explained.

Resource name Details
AIP Publishing ‚Äč To support the nursing community RCNi have developed a dedicated COVID-19 resource centre that is completely free to access for all nurses and frontline NHS staff working with coronavirus patients.
American Association for the Advancement of Science AAAS 50+ articles related to infectious diseases, epidemics, computational epidemiology, and pandemics
American Chemical Society Chemistry in Coronavirus Research: A Free to Read Collection from the American Chemical Society 
American Medical Association Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection below, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness. 
American Physiological Society Articles discussing COVID-19, coronavirus, SARS, and other related research are being made freely accessible in this cross-journal collection. This collection will continue to grow as relevant content is identified and new contributions on these topics are accepted.
BioOne Coronavirus‚ÄźRelated Journal Collection
British Institute of Radiology All COVID-19 related articles that are accepted for publication in BIR journals will be freely available for all readers
British Medical Journal Practical guidance, online CPD courses, as well as the latest news, comment, and research from BMJ. The content is free and updated daily.
Cambridge University Press More than 80 relevant book chapters and journals articles with research related to the coronavirus.
CNKI 1640+ articles regarding COVID-19, cost for OA publication and related services will be completely covered by CNKI
Cochrane Library Special collections on evidence relevant to critical care; infection control and prevention measures; and remote consultation and home-based care
Cytel Cytel has launched an open-access global COVID-19 Clinical Trial Tracker. The live dashboard offers an overview of all the trials taking place in the international effort to tackle the pandemic.
De Gruyter Articles in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine and a few other journals. Most articles are free or Open Access. 
DSI/AllThatStats Statistics Platform - COVID related content
EBSCO/DynaMed In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we want to do our part to support frontline healthcare providers in their efforts to combat the disease. EBSCO Information Services and IBM Watson Health are offering free access to DynaMed and Micromedex with Watson for a limited time to help deliver fast, evidence-based answers to disease and medication questions at the point of care
Elsevier Journal Article hubs from Elsevier, Lancet and Cell Press as well as Springer Nature, Wiley, NEJM, BMJ, ASM, and Chongqing VIP
Future Science Group COVID-19 Hub collates content from across our journals and eCommunities; including peer-reviewed articles, news and commentary. Content is free to read and is updated daily.
IET Free access to research on areas relating to COVID-19, respiratory viruses, ventilators and ventilator components to help research efforts in the fight against the global pandemic.
JSTOR 26 Public Health Journal archives
Karger Collection of 45+ Coronavirus / COVID-19 articles, 40+ of which have been made open in response to the pandemic
Mary Ann Liebert Collection of Liebert COVID-19 research content: 22+ articles from 9+ journals
McGraw-Hill Medical 24+ entries on AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central to help teaching and learning online and to share the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic
MEDLINE content for COVID-19 A continuously updated and curated literature resource for tracking up-to-date peer reviewed journal content about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. Articles are updated throughout the week and enhanced with recommendations and categorised research topics. Ease of access is improved with sorting capabilities and 35 filters such as case reports and retractions.
Oxford University Press 1700+ of 2200+ Coronavirus articles made freely available in response to the pandemic; link to ~50+ list of the most pertinent resources
Proquest Coronavirus Research Database Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print reposit
RavenPack RavenPack has made public its COVID-19 news monitoring dashboard.
RCNI To support the nursing community RCNi have developed a dedicated COVID-19 resource centre that is completely free to access for all nurses and frontline NHS staff working with coronavirus patients.
Royal Society of Chemistry All articles on coronavirus research are freely available.
RSNA - Radiological Society of North America Access vital resources for radiologists to support radiology department preparedness, early detection, prompt treatment and effective public health containment of COVID-19.
Sage 150+ articles spanning science, technology, and medicine and in the social and behavioral sciences
Springer Nature Latest coronavirus research & news items
Taylor & Francis Collection of 1400+ articles matching 'Coronavirus', 1150+ of which have been made open in response to the pandemic
Wiley More than 5,300 Coronavirus-related articles and book chapters on Wiley Online
Wolters Kluwer To support health professionals working around the clock to meet those most in need, we are making the following updates and resources available - at no charge - for clinicians, nurses and medical researchers, in response to new developments, evidence and guidance.