LibGuides: Children and Early Childhood: Finding Journal Articles

How to find journal articles

Do you want to find journal articles on a topic or look for a specific article?

Use Discovery - input your topic or the details of a journal article to search across most of the Library's resources

Discovery

If you have a journal title use Journal Finder to check if the Library has access to full text.

Journal Finder

What are journals?

They are: Journals

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Click on the link below to access a list of e-journal titles. Then click on the titles to view the Library's holdings. To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

Education E-Journals

Databases for your subject

Databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your Early Childhood Studies information team. Details on the Home page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and test
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
This collection covers educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. The BEI provides coverage of all areas of education from pre-school to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group.

This comprehensive index currently includes more than 310,000 records for articles published in UK journals from 1929 onwards and over 11,650 records for UK thesis. Sources in the BEI include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK along with international literature. An education thesaurus with thousands of terms is also included.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 750,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
This database provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.

Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, thesis and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database. More than 510,000 records are included, with over 58,000 new records added each year.
Childlink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Childlink is an online database focusing on legislation, policies and practices regarding children, young people and families who live in the UK and Ireland. It includes information on education, benefit issues, welfare, youth affairs, lifestyle, health, justice and employment.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering:
• HR, Learning & Organization Studies
• Business, Management & Strategy
• Marketing
• Accounting, Finance & Economics
• Operations Logistics & Quality
• Engineering
• Education
• Public Policy & Environmental Management
• Health & Social Care
Joseph Rowntree Foundation This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 700 books and research reports available free from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation. The JRF are one of the largest social policy research and development charities in the UK, spending about £10 million a year on a research and development programme that seeks to better understand the causes of social difficulties and explore ways of overcoming them. The research is carried out in partnership with a large variety of academic and other institutions.

Researching education
‘Researching Education’ offers accessible summaries of recent research findings that concern educational practice. Articles are published online and written by the original research investigators.

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to the following collections:
Premier Journals Collection portfolio of 1,101 titles
SAGE IMechE portfolio of 18 titles
SAGE RSM portfolio of 28 titles
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
In this journal collection we have access to:
1475 titles in Social Science and Humanities Library
532 titles in Science & Technology Library
203 titles in Medical Library
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Sage Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
Search and browse this collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.

Help

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journals and journal articles.

Evaluating your results

Using online databases to find information isn't the end of the story, you also need to be able to judge how relevant your results are. Recent research has found that some students struggle with this.

Critical Thinking Skills
An exercise to test your skills of evaluation

Tip

Some students think that everything they find searching an online database is available through the Library. In fact the results are not a list of items available at Teesside University, you need to use the button to discover whether the library does have access to the article electronically or in print.