Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy

How to find journal articles

Do you want to find journal articles on a topic or look for a specific article?

Use Discovery - input your topic or the details of a journal article to search across most of the Library's resources

Discovery

Search for journal articles
More search options

If you have a journal title use Journal Finder to check if the Library has access to full text.

Journal Finder

If you know the name of a Journal, enter the title here to check if it's available in the Library

 

 

To link through to a complete list of e-journals: A-Z list

What are journals?

They are:Journals

  • like magazines but of a scholarly nature
  • published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
  • contain articles on a variety of topics
  • the articles are written by different authors
  • sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
  • in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

  • journal time is much quicker than for a book
  • using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
  • journals articles are more specific than books.  They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
  • subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
  • quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

  • Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
  • Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
  • Longer articles, heavily text based
  • Charts, tables, statistics and images
  • Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your Health and Social Care information team. Details on the Home page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

Evidence Based Practice

Evidence Based Practice is about using the best available evidence on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions as a basis for professional decision making in practice. The evidence from the research should be used in conjunction with clinician expertise and patient choice. For information and resources for Evidence Based Practice, see the Evidence Based Practice LibGuide.

Book a Literature Searching Tutorial

We offer a tutorial service to help with searching the specialist databases on your topic. Literature searching tutorial

To request a tutorial with a Health and Social Care Librarian please click on the booking button below:

Please note:

1. Tutorials can be booked 2 weeks in advance.

2. The tutorials are for 1 hour.

3. Please report to the iZone reception desk for your tutorial.

4.  If there is no convenient booking slot available please email libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk as we may be able to see you another time.

Please note:

For help with academic skills see the Learning Advisors for Literacy tutorials http://tees.libguides.com/learning_hub/tutorials

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Journals - What? Why? Where?

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Doing a Literature Search

FAQs

Succeed@Tees Workshops: Searching the Literature for Evidence Based Practice

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in searching the literature for evidence based practice

Structured Searching in CINAHL

Critical Appraisal for Health students

Need to Search Grey Literature

Grey literature is material which is not usually published through normal channels.  Examples of grey literature include: government reports, theses, conference papers and abstracts, discussion papers, newsletters, PowerPoint presentations, best practice documents, guidelines and protocols. 

The helpsheet below details the best sources to use to find grey literature in the area of health and social care.

Public Health England have also compiled an index of grey literature and the link to this is below.

Inter Library Loans

Have you found a useful resource that we do not have access to?  Undergraduate students doing their final assessment projects/dissertations, postgraduate students and staff are eligible for inter library loans. See the Inter Library Loan LibGuide for more information.  

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar (available at http://scholar.google.co.uk/) allows you to search the internet for scholarly articles and books. You can customise Google Scholar so that the button appears alongside the results in order to search for full text in our electronic resources.

To add the  button to your Google Scholar search, click on the image with the three lines at the top left hand side of the screen: Screenshot from Google Scholar to show where settings areThen click on Settings and choose Library links from the left hand menu. Enter Teesside University in the search box. Tick the box next to Teesside University - Find it @ Tees and then click on Save.

Now whenever you perform a search in Google Scholar, the  button will be displayed next to the results. It will help you to connect to the full text of the resource if Teesside University Library has a subscription to it (either electronically or in print).