LibGuides: Fashion: eResources for Inspiration

eResources for Inspiration

Are you looking for ideas to inspire a creative project or do you want to use images, video or sound to enhance your assignments.

The following resources could help you.

WGSN - Fashion This link opens in a new window
By predicting the trends of tomorrow, WGSN Fashion helps the world’s largest retailers, brands and manufacturers lead with confidence.
Can I access this resource?
To access WGSN you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the WGSN licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Video demo of how to use WGSN Fashion

This video demo by Roxanne from WGSN will explore how trends are forecast, using the design resources and other aspects of the platform including reports and catwalk collections. The video duration is 34 minutes.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Fashion Studies Online This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together at completion over 1,200 hours of videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Proquest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)
Campaign UK This link opens in a new window
Serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Logging in to Campaign
To Gain access, you will need to register with Campaign using your Teesside University email address - personal email addresses will not work.
To register use your Teesside University email address and select a unique password. You will receive a 'Welcome' email meaning your account is set up, and you do not need to complete the 'About You' page for access. If you choose to, enter 'Teesside University', 'Student/Academic' and 'Education' where applicable.
By signing up to this site you will be supplying personal data to Haymarket and should ensure that you are comfortable with their privacy notice (below)
Privacy Notice (This link opens in a new window)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Museum Images This link opens in a new window
Representing over 250 years of active collecting and curation, the British Museum Image Collection of prints and drawings.

Tate: Art and Artists
Learn about the lives of artists and the stories behind their work

John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window
The Advertising collection provides unique insights into the changing timeline of the fashions in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
VADS This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections.

Visit the Copyright LibGuide for guidance on using sources.

Sway - Top resources for Fashion

Vecteezy
Explore royalty-free vectors, clipart graphics, icons, stock photos, stock videos, backgrounds, patterns, banners, and designs from artists around the World.
Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a global nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and reuse of creativity and knowledge.
flickr
Freeimages.com
Free stock photos and royalty-free images.
ICONFINDER
Tip: Limit your search to free images and check the licence information.
Pexels
Free stock photos, royalty free images and videos shared by creators.
Pixabay
Enables the sharing copyright free images, videos and music. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the creator.

Visit the Copyright LibGuide for guidance on using sources.