Biosciences

CHECK THIS FIRST.
A list of repositories and databases for open data - categorised by subject area

The Physical Sciences Data-science Service is a National Research Facility which brings together tools and resources for UK researchers in physical sciences, including chemistry, crystallography, materials and related fields. It provides access to web-based data services are which are freely accessible for academic users from the UK. Further information about the PSDS, including terms and conditions can be found on the About page and Learning page. To gain access to the PSDS, please register your details and your Teesside University email address.

To cite the Service in a publication or on the internet, please state: "We wish to acknowledge the use of the EPSRC funded Physical Sciences Data-science Service hosted by the University of Southampton and STFC." Continued provision of the Service does rely on its relevance to the community, so please do acknowledge the Service when appropriate.

Partnership of people, institutions and government agencies that supports the conservation of birds and their habitats by improving access to and use of data and tools. Data available on bird-monitoring, banding and citizen-based bird-surveillance.

Single integrated species checklist and taxonomic hierarchy. The Catalogue holds essential information on the names, relationships and distributions of over 1.6 million species.

ExPASY, the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics Resource Portal, provides access to databases and software tools in different areas of the life sciences, including proteomics, genomics and phylogeny.

Collection of sequences from multiple sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and Protein Data Bank (PDB). Searching Nucleotide will yield results from each of its component databases, which can also be searched separately. [NCBI database]

Repository for raw sequencing data from next-generation sequencing technologies. [NCBI database]

Collection of genomics, functional genomics, and genetic studies with links to their datasets. [NCBI database]

Database of genes from a wide range of species, with a focus on genomes that have been completely sequenced. [NCBI database]

Archive of structural information about nucleic acids.

Collected by Plant Metabolic Network

Collection of 2988 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), each describing the genome and metabolic pathways of a single organism. (Click on "Change organism database" in upper right to get started)

Comparative grass genomics (rice, maize, sorghum, barley, oats, wheat, rye)

Plant Comparative Genomics portal of the Department of Energy's Joint Genome Institute. Families of related genes representing the modern descendants of ancestral genes are constructed at key phylogenetic nodes. These families allow easy access to clade-specific orthology/paralogy relationships as well as insights into clade-specific novelties and expansions. As of release v11, Phytozome provides access to sixty-five sequenced and annotated green plant

Provides a broad network of plant metabolic pathway databases that contain curated information from the literature and computational analyses about the genes, enzymes, compounds, reactions, and pathways involved in primary and secondary metabolism in plants.

Collected by Plant Metabolic Network