LibGuides: Comics and Graphic Novels: Essential resources

Essential

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course:

Underground and Independent Comics

This database focuses on adult comic books and graphic novels. It includes the works of artists, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles about this artform.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix and Graphic Novels
Can I access this resource?
To access Proquest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)

British Cartoon Archive

The British Cartoon Archive is an online collection and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. The BCA holds artwork for over 200,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.

British Cartoon Archive

Registration is required to create a collection of favourite cartoons which will be visible everytime you login. To use an image for 'non-commercial educational context in the UK' select Teesside University from the list of institutions and agree to the terms and conditions, you will then be prompted with a Shibboleth login screen, insert your ICT username and password.

A-N magazine

a-n magazine is a key source for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice.

an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter)
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

To get the best experience from this Guide use the full-screen version.

ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the study of comics and related media

Go to a more comprehensive list of resources for Creative Industries

Do you want to improve your techniques in areas such as rigging, motion capture, drawing, animating and texturing?

Use the following resources to help develop your techniques.

Gnomon Workshop
With over 300 titles, The Gnomon Workshop library covers a myriad of subjects and techniques. Choose from lessons in design, drawing, painting, modeling, texturing, rigging, effects, and animation.
Rhino House
Rhino House provides video references to animators and artists. It covers the way in which creatures interact, behave, and move about, including the colours, textures, and shapes that make each species so unique.
Stash
Online video magazine of animation, VFX and motion design

Search Discovery

Find books, ebooks, articles, video and more

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.