LibGuides: Education and Teaching: Essential resources

Essential

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course:

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only. If prompted to login, most resources require your standard Teesside University Username and Password. Some resources may require a different login and details can be found in the description for each database. Third party accessibility information for each resource is also provided where possible. If you need help with these or any resource email libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Can I access this resource?
To access Education Research Complete you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Education Research Complete licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
British Education Index
The BEI provides coverage of all areas of education from pre-school to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCO databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the EBSCO licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)
The database provides access to educational literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 750,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced materiai
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
The database provides access to educational literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 750,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced materiai
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)

African Journals Online
African Journals Online (AJOL) hosts Open Access Journals from Africa.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Community Care Inform - Children
Provides online resources that enable social care professionals to make robust, evidence-based decisions.
To login to this resource:
Select 'Log In'
Search for 'Teesside University' in the Institution Login box
Click 'Find'
Click 'Teesside University' to confirm the correct institution
Click 'Login'
Login using your University email address and password

Can I access this resource?
To access Community Care Inform - Children you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Community Care Inform - Children licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier
Full-text access to journals including Education
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Books and research reports from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation, a social policy research and development charity from the UK.
Overton
A searchable policy databases with access to policy documents and guidelines from over 29,000 organisations in over 185 countries.

It is possible to create an account to enable searches, bookmarks and alerts to be saved.
Sage Journals Online
Provides access to the Premier Journals Collection portfolio of 1,101 titles
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Premier licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
ScienceDirect
An extensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Taylor and Francis Online
Provides access to a wide variety of journal titles .
Can I access this resource?
To access Taylor and Francis Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Taylor and Francis Journals Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to Z)
Teachers TV from Education in Video
Provides access to instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed.
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Sage Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help with research projects.
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Sage Research Methods Cases
Search and browse this collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Search Discovery

Find books, ebooks, articles, video and more

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.