LibGuides: Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector: Finding Journal Articles

Using databases for your subject

Using databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your SSBL information team. Details on the Home page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and test
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Education Research Complete you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Education Research Complete licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection covers educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. The BEI provides coverage of all areas of education from pre-school to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group.

This comprehensive index currently includes more than 310,000 records for articles published in UK journals from 1929 onwards and over 11,650 records for UK thesis. Sources in the BEI include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK along with international literature. An education thesaurus with thousands of terms is also included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCO databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the EBSCO licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 750,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced materiai
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 750,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced materiai
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Providing indexing back to 1969 and abstracts back to 1990 for more than 1,100 periodicals, books and yearbooks, this database covers a broad range of education-related subjects for students, professionals and policy makers. Education Abstracts features content on a range of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This research database includes more than 180,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.

Records are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as the Educational Administration Quarterly, the Review of Higher Education, and the Journal of Educational Administration. EBSCO has digitised the full archive of this index, including coverage dating back over 55 years.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
African Journals Online (AJOL) hosts 372 Open Access Journals and has been working since 1998 to make African research accessible to African researchers and to the rest of the world.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering:
• HR, Learning & Organization Studies
• Business, Management & Strategy
• Marketing
• Accounting, Finance & Economics
• Operations Logistics & Quality
• Engineering
• Education
• Public Policy & Environmental Management
• Health & Social Care
• Information and Knowledge Management
• Library Sciences
• Property Management and Built Environment
• Tourism and Hospitality

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Joseph Rowntree Foundation This link opens in a new window
Over 700 books and research reports available free from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation. The JRF are one of the largest social policy research and development charities in the UK, spending about £10 million a year on a research and development programme that seeks to better understand the causes of social difficulties and explore ways of overcoming them. The research is carried out in partnership with a large variety of academic and other institutions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Overton This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overton is the world’s largest searchable policy database. It includes access to over 5 million policy documents and guidelines from over 29,000 organisations in over 185 countries. The database extracts key terms and topics; it also maps citations to show the pathways to impact in policy.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
It is possible to create an account to enable searches, bookmarks and alerts to be saved.

Researching education
‘Researching Education’ offers accessible summaries of recent research findings that concern educational practice. Articles are published online and written by the original research investigators.

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to the following collections:
Premier Journals Collection portfolio of 1,101 titles
SAGE IMechE portfolio of 18 titles
SAGE RSM portfolio of 28 titles
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Premier licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In this journal collection we have access to:
1475 titles in Social Science and Humanities Library
532 titles in Science & Technology Library
203 titles in Medical Library
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Taylor and Francis Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Taylor and Francis Journals Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to Z)
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Times Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Due to the impact of the coronavirus outbreak, from 2 April 2020 the frequency of THE has been reduced to fortnightly publication.

Provides global higher education coverage. Find world university rankings, news, opinions, features and book reviews.

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access Times Higher Education go to: Access Instructions
By signing up to this site you will be supplying personal data to THE and should ensure that you are comfortable with their Privacy Notice
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Sage Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
Search and browse this collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Finding Journals

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Doing a Literature Search

Developing Keywords