Part 1 of this video series looks at how to search for quality information using Discovery.
It covers the basics of searching and using Discovery to create a basic and advanced search. The advice given and the searching techniques can be applied to any health topic/discipline.
Video Presentation - Part 1:
The slides which are used during this video presentation are below.
Part 2 of this video series looks at searching for quality information in the subject databases. It covers advanced and structured searching in the online health databases. The advice given and the searching techniques can be applied to any health topic/discipline.
If you haven’t already done so, you might also find it useful to watch part 1 which looks at the basics of searching and using Discovery.
Please note: The library homepage has been updated since this video was recorded and the skills guides mentioned in the video can now be found here: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/learninghub?b=s&group_id=6925
Video Presentation - Part 2:
The slides which are used during this video presentation are below.
They are:
Evidence Based Practice is about using the best available evidence on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions as a basis for professional decision making in practice. The evidence from the research should be used in conjunction with clinician expertise and patient choice.
Evidence comes in various forms, some more reliable than others, so it is important that clinical practice is based on the most dependable. In order of decreasing scientific validity they are:
A systematic review assesses the effectiveness of a healthcare intervention on a disease or illness by providing a scientific method of assessing research evidence.
Systematic Reviews take great care to find and locate all relevant research studies on a particular intervention. Rigorous methods are used to limit bias in identifying or rejecting studies to be included in the Review. Each study is assessed and the results of the individual studies are synthesised in an unbiased way and an impartial summary of the findings is presented.
To find the research efficiently, the first step is to ask a well-designed clinical question based on the PICO, PIO or PEO formula. This formula provides a framework for you search strategy.
| PICO (Quantitative) | PIO (Quantitative) | PEO (Qualitative) |
| P - Patient or Problem | P - Patient or Problem | P - Patient or Problem |
| I - Intervention (drugs treatment or therapy) | I - Intervention (drugs treatment or therapy) | E - Exposure |
|
C - Comparison between the Interventions (control and experiment) (optional - if there is no comparison use PIO) |
O - Outcome - the results of the trials | O - Outcomes (Themes) |
| O - Outcome - the results of the trials |
In addition to the specialist subject databases listed under Databases for your subject in your subject LibGuide you may find the following databases useful for evidence based research:
This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation;
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation.
Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
DARE is a database of high quality systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
NHS EED is a database of structured abstracts of economic evaluations of health care interventions. Cost-benefit analyses, cost-effectiveness analyses and cost-utility analyses are identified from a variety of sources and assessed according to set quality criteria. Detailed structured abstracts are produced.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
The National Research Register was a public database of ongoing and recently completed research projects funded by, or of interest to, the United Kingdom's National Health Service (NHS).
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.
The HTA database contains abstracts produced by the International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment and other healthcare technology agencies.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:
The following guides will help you to develop your skills in searching the literature for evidence based practice
Grey literature is material which is not usually published through normal channels. Examples of grey literature include: government reports, theses, conference papers and abstracts, discussion papers, newsletters, PowerPoint presentations, best practice documents, guidelines and protocols.
The helpsheet below details the best sources to use to find grey literature in health.
Have you found a useful resource that we do not have access to? The Inter Library Loan (ILL) service gives staff and students of Teesside University access to material not currently held by the Library. See the Inter Library Loan Guide for more information.