LibGuides: Structured searching for health students (using CINAHL and other databases): Further support

Other useful databases for health topics

Structured searching in Embase

The video tutorial below shows how to use Boolean operators, advanced search techniques and filters in the database Embase. You can access the database by clicking on the link below.

Video Tutorial

You can open an Ovid database (such as Embase or Maternity and Infant Care) and search without having to create a personal account but you need to create a personal account in order to:

Save searches (which you can re-run later)
Save articles
Create Projects to organise your saved articles

The videos and written guidance below explain how to create a personal account and how to save, re-run and share searches in the Ovid databases.

Video Tutorial (Creating a personal account)	Written Guidance (Creating a personal account)	Video Tutorial (Saving, re-running and sharing a search)	Written Guidance (Saving, re-running and sharing a search)

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.

Further Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Embase tab
Can I access this resource?
To access Embase you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Embase licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Structured searching in Scopus

The video tutorial below shows how to use Boolean operators, advanced search techniques and filters in the database Scopus. You can access the database by clicking on the link below.

Video Tutorial

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Scopus tab

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Structured searching in Maternity and Infant Care

The video tutorial below shows how to use Boolean operators, advanced search techniques and filters in the database Maternity and Infant Care. You can access the database by clicking on the link below.

Video Tutorial

You can open an Ovid database (such as Embase or Maternity and Infant Care) and search without having to create a personal account but you need to create a personal account in order to:

Save searches (which you can re-run later)
Save articles
Create Projects to organise your saved articles

The videos and written guidance below explain how to create a personal account and how to save, re-run and share searches in the Ovid databases.

Video Tutorial (Creating a personal account)	Written Guidance (Creating a personal account)	Video Tutorial (Saving, re-running and sharing a search)	Written Guidance (Saving, re-running and sharing a search)

Maternity and Infant Care This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maternity and Infant Care database replaces the MIDIRS database. It contains over 120,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant's life. Database coverage is from 1971 to the present.

To access Maternity and Infant Care click the continue button then scroll down the resources list and click on Maternity and Infant Care.
Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Maternity and Infant Care tab

Can I access this resource?
To access Wolters Kluwer (OVID) resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Wolters Kluwer (OVID) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Searching in PEDro (the Physiotherapy Evidence Database)

PEDro is a free database of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

The web guide below shows how to use Boolean operators and search techniques in this database and how to view the results.

Online Guide:

PEDro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A physiotherapy evidence database 'developed to give physiotherapists and others rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, and systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials, in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality.'

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the PEDro tab
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

Structured searching in PubMed

This interactive tutorial from the University of Nottingham shows how to conduct a structured search using PubMed.

Online Tutorial:

Medline (available via EBSCO) will cover a lot of the content within PubMed and offers the ability to do a more focused/structured search. It is also one of the main databases used in Systematic reviews. However, although both databases are very similar and will have a lot of duplicated content, there are some differences to be aware of, before you make your decision about whether to search them both or not.

PubMed is an interface used to search Medline but it does also have some additional biomedical content. PubMed citations come from:
1) MEDLINE indexed journals:
2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PMC
3) NCBI Bookshelf.
If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
More information is available here: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the main source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It covers 4,600 journals from 1950 to the present.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Searching in the Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library training hub guides you through how to use the Cochrane Library by providing access to quick training videos, user guides and webinars.

The short videos below show how to search in the Cochrane Library.

Video from Cochrane Training which shows the different ways to search the Cochrane Library	Video from Alkek Library (Texas State University) which shows how to search for systematic reviews in the Cochrane Library.

Cochrane Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation;
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Other databases include: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - abstracts of other systematic reviews; NHS Economic Evaluation Database (register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions); Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (bibliography of clinical trials); Cochrane Review of Methodology Register (bibliography of research synthesis).

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab
Cochrane Library for students based overseas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
It also includes: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - abstracts of other systematic reviews; NHS Economic Evaluation Database (register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions); Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (bibliography of clinical trials); Cochrane Review of Methodology Register (bibliography of research synthesis).

Systematic Reviews

If you a a postgraduate researcher undertaking a full systematic review or if you are a taught postgraduate on a course where you need to search systematically for a literature review, you might also find the Systematic Review LibGuide useful.

Critical Appraisal

See the Critical Appraisal LibGuide for basic level support for appraising qualitative and quantitative research papers. It's designed for students who have already attended lectures on critical appraisal.

The guide includes frameworks to appraise research along with an opportunity to practise appraisal skills using a research paper with suggested answers.

Developing a search strategy with e-LfH

This series of tutorials from e-LfH (NHS, Health Education England) will take you through the steps needed to develop an effective search strategy. You don't need to log in, you can access these resources as a guest.

Introduction to Searching: This tutorial helps you to: recognise when you need to conduct a search; identify which searching skills you need to develop; and find out where you can access further help with searching.

Where do I Start Searching?: This tutorial explores what types of information are available and where to search for them. As well as CINAHL, the University subscribes to a variety of health resources which will be useful for you in your research. You can access these through the A-Z of databases or your subject Guide.

This tutorial has been created by Health Education England, which means that some of the resources highlighted are only available to NHS employees. If you are a Healthcare student, on an education program which involves practice and placement within an NHS provider, you can access these additional resources through Open Athens.