LibGuides: Curating: Essential resources

Essential

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course:

Art Full text contains subject relevant academic journals, magazines and books. Covers the arts, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film and more.

Art Full Text
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)

Art, Design & Architecture Collection contains full-text research material in the fields of art and design.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter)
a-n magazine is a key source for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice.
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

To get the best experience from this Guide use the full-screen version.

Art and Architecture Archive
A comprehensive collection of full-text publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art and Architecture Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art and Architecture Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Go to a more comprehensive list of resources for Creative Industries

Curator: The Museum Journal
Curator: The Museum Journal provides a platform for museum professionals to explore, debate, and discuss the current practices, issues, and policies that museums are facing. As a museology and museum studies journal, it presents perspectives from global experts and practitioners on the cutting-edge of museum innovation and development.
On-Curating Journal
The OnCurating journal is independent with focus on curating both on the web and in print. The publications are openly accessible on the website. It collaborates with different partner institutions.
e-flux Journal
e-flux’s announcements deliver the latest press releases of key art exhibitions relevant to an international public. Its online archive reaches back two decades, forming a unique art historical resource on global contemporary art exhibitions, curatorial concepts, and artistic ideas.

OnCurating titles available online - Click on the image to get full-text access

e-flux Journal titles available online - Click on the image to get full-text access

Science Museum Group Journal
The Science Museum Group Journal is an open-access online publication presenting the global research community with peer-reviewed papers that are relevant to the Science Museum Group’s collection and practice and to the wider international museum community.
International Journal of Cultural Policy
The International Journal of Cultural Policy is a peer reviewed journal that provides an outlet for a multidisciplinary and international exploration of the meaning, function and consequences of cultural policies. Cultural policy is understood as the promotion or disparagement of particular cultural practices and values.
The Leadership Quarterly
The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications. The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications.
Leadership
Leadership is the leading scholarly journal in the field of researching leadership studies, at the cutting edge of the theory and practice of leadership and organization. The main emphasis in the journal is on interdisciplinary, diverse and critical analyses of leadership processes in contemporary organizations and society.
Journal of Leadership Studies
The Journal of Leadership Studies is intended for both practitioners and scholars who are engaged in leadership inquiry and endeavors. The audience includes scholars, business scholars, business leaders, managers, administrators and other individuals who seek to further their leadership understanding and competence.
Leadership & Organization Development Journal (LODJ)
LODJ explores the practical application of leadership and organization development theory in order to identify its relevance for managerial practice. It focuses on the interpretation of research and how the results of research may be translated into practice.

Search Discovery

Find books, ebooks, articles, video and more

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.