LibGuides: E-books@Tees: E-book collections

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

E-book collections

Teesside University Library subscribes to a range of e-book collections. These are searchable via Discovery, but can be accessed individually from the E-book Collections at Teesside list below.

There are also a number of free to access e-book collections, which will not be covered by Discovery but can be accessed from the Free E-book Collections list below.

E-book Collections from Teesside University

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a collection of over 210,000 books and other authoritative content to which we have full-text access. It covers multiple subject areas.
A short form may pop up asking you to indicate which School/Department you are in. Please pick from the drop-down list.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Please note that to download ebooks from Ebook Central you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your PC. If you want to access your downloaded content on multiple PCs or devices you will need to register for an Adobe ID - further guidance on this can be found on the EBook Central Help Site
If you are on campus, Digital Editions can be found in AppsAnywhere. You will need to open this software before attempting to download the book.
Can I access this resource?
To access E-Book Central you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the E-Book Central licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
The library provides some e-book content via the VLeBooks platform.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access VLeBooks you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
EBSCO e-book collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books covering a wide variety of subject areas. You can search for information across titles and also within a specific title.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of health-related e-books
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ulitmate is a business database, providing bibliographic and full text content for many academic business journals back to 1886 . Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digitised editions of almost 150,000 English language titles published between 1701 and 1800. Materials include books, broadsheets, tracts and printed ephemera and cover a large range of subjects. The complete works of the major writers of the century are available.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Access to ECCO is via JISC MediaHub
ForensicNetBase This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable e-books covering forensics, crime scene science, fire investigation, security management and computer crime investigation
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Forensic NetBase you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Authorised Users may, in accordance with the Licence and the Restrictions:
Copy and paste up to one thousand (1000) words per single eBook, serial or other literary work forming part of the Licensed Materials under this Agreement, per Authorised User, per session for Personal Use only.
Each Authorised User shall not access any one (1) Licensed Material for more than one hundred and twenty (120) minutes per session.
A copy of the full terms of the Forensic NetBase licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education includes books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
E Focus in Human Rights This link opens in a new window
E-focus on Human Rights. Ebook package including 94 titles
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

Free e-book collections

A growing number of e-books are freely available on the Internet. These are often works which are out of copyright or works that authors have chosen to make freely available. This is a selective list of some useful free sources of e-books. Some sites enable you to convert their e-books into formats that can be read on e-readers.

BookBoon This link opens in a new window
Bookboon.com is an online publisher of free books. You can download the books for free and without providing any personal details. The books are provided in PDF so that you can print the books and/or read them offline. In the books there are relevant advertisements on every third page on average.
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
This collection is based on documents produced by Project Gutenberg. Founded by Michael Hart in 1971 with the aim of distributing a trillion (1,000,000,000) electronic literature files by the year 2001, Project Gutenberg has evolved into an on-going project to produce and distribute free electronic editions of literature.

Cambridge University Press - Open access titles
Directory of Open Access Books
A service which harvests details of academic and mainly peer-reviewed books published on open access.
Feedbooks
Public domain and freely available original works are available on this site. Supports a wide variety of file types enabling them to be loaded onto most e-readers.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.