LibGuides: Fine Art: Essential resources

Essential

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course:

Art Full text contains subject relevant academic journals, magazines and books. Covers the arts, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film and more.

Art Full Text
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)

Where else to search

A-N magazine

a-n magazine is a key source for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice.

an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter)
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

To get the best experience from this Guide use the full-screen version.

Go to a more comprehensive list of resources for Creative Industries

To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

Aesthetica - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).
Art in America - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).
Elephant - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles for Fine Art include:


International Artist	London Magazine	Art Press

On-Curating Journal (Online)
The OnCurating journal is independent with focus on curating both on the web and in print. The publications are openly accessible on the website. It collaborates with different partner institutions.
e-flux Journal
e-flux’s announcements deliver the latest press releases of key art exhibitions relevant to an international public. Its online archive reaches back two decades, forming a unique art historical resource on global contemporary art exhibitions, curatorial concepts, and artistic ideas.

Search Discovery

Find books, ebooks, articles, video and more

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.