LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Finding Books

Connect with us on social media

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Electronic books (Ebooks)

Ebooks are electronic versions of books.

The library subscribes to a number of ebook collections, of which the most useful for Mechanical Engineering are:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a collection of over 210,000 books and other authoritative content to which we have full-text access. It covers multiple subject areas.
A short form may pop up asking you to indicate which School/Department you are in. Please pick from the drop-down list.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Please note that to download ebooks from Ebook Central you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your PC. If you want to access your downloaded content on multiple PCs or devices you will need to register for an Adobe ID - further guidance on this can be found on the EBook Central Help Site
If you are on campus, Digital Editions can be found in AppsAnywhere. You will need to open this software before attempting to download the book.
Can I access this resource?
To access E-Book Central you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the E-Book Central licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
The library provides some e-book content via the VLeBooks platform.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access VLeBooks you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education includes books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

National Aerospace Library e-book Service
Student membership (Free) gives access to the ebook collection; log in to the member portal to access e-book services.

For more help and advice on using e-books go to:

E-books@Tees