LibGuides: Politics &amp; International Relations: Finding Digital Media, Newspapers, Official Documents & Statistics

Digital Media, Newspapers, Official Documents & Statistics

Digital Media

You may need to use images, video or sound in your assignments. The databases below contain still and moving images and audio clips.

Visit the Copyright LibGuide for guidance on using sources of information.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. It holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines. The online collection contains 35,000 cartoon images.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration is required to create a collection of favourite cartoons which will be visible everytime you login. To use an image for 'non-commercial educational context in the UK' select Teesside University from the list of institutions and agree to the terms and conditions, you will then be prompted with a Shibboleth login screen, insert your ICT username and password.
British Library Sounds This link opens in a new window
** Currently Unavailable **

Listen to a selection from the British Library's extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access British Library Sounds Service you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of Licenced Material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the British Library Sounds Service licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Museum Images This link opens in a new window
Representing over 250 years of active collecting and curation, the British Museum Image Collection of prints and drawings (a subset of which is searchable through Connected Histories) is simply one of the most comprehensive collections of images on paper in the world.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Connected Histories This link opens in a new window
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
Early European Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Early European Books you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)

UK Web Archive

Moving Image Gateway This link opens in a new window
This Gateway includes 1,800 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
News on Screen This link opens in a new window
A database of British cinema newsreels from 1910 to 1979. Contains 160,000 records from 21 newsreels and cinemagazines, 80,000 digitised newsreel production documents, and a wide range of information resources, including oral history recordings, film availability sources and online articles. 40,000 records link to free low-resolution downloadable copies from the British Pathe web site.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
VADS This link opens in a new window
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) is an online resource for the visual arts.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

flickr
Creative Commons
CC - Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.
Northern Ireland Official Publications Archive

Newspapers

The Library provides access to current newspapers and a large collection of newspaper online archives, see below for information about our holdings.

Artemis Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in archives where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. By building a seamless research environment for multiple collections, Gale is creating the largest digital humanities and social sciences collection in the world. **Please note that the holdings for Teesside University cover the period 1600 – 1913**
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Historical Newspapers: Guardian/Observer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Historical Newspapers: Guardian & Observer you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Historical Newspapers licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Lexis Plus (formerly LexisLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Lexis Plus (Lexis+) is a legal database containing UK, EU and international case law, legislation, legal journals, commentary texts, current awareness, and news. The database provides access to full text online legal and news information services and contains a range of practitioner texts including Butterworths Company Law Handbook and Butterworths Family Law Service as well as All England Law Reports, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, and Halsbury's Laws. A full-text collection of several UK broadsheet, tabloid and local newspapers is also included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Lexis Library you must be either:
- A UK-based Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A UK-based member of Teesside University Faculty or Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
The licence for Lexis Nexis includes the following terms:
- The material available on Lexis Library is only for educational purposes directly linked to academic coursework
- You may only print one single hard copy of up to ten documents
- You may only download one single copy of up to ten documents
A copy of the full terms of the Lexis Library licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.

Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile edition of the Times 1785-2019. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times, to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Times Digital Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Times Digital Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

British History Online This link opens in a new window
British History Online provides administrative and legal history sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament) and the development of British law.

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access British History Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the British History Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Connected Histories This link opens in a new window
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
Vision of Britain This link opens in a new window
A Vision of Britain through Time brings together historical surveys of Britain to create a record of how the country and its localities have changed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
National Archives This link opens in a new window
Allows you access to The National Archives' collection of digitised public records, including both academic and family history sources.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Digital Downloads you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Digital Downloads licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to D)
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Cecil Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cecil Papers is a major collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. More than 150,000 pages have been digitised in full colour to create a definitive online archive of almost 30,000 manuscript documents written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history. These are accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers, featuring summaries and/or transcripts of many documents and two eighteenth-century volumes of selected transcriptions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Proquest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Charles Booth Online Archive This link opens in a new window
The Charles Booth Online Archive is a searchable resource giving access to archive material from the Booth collections of the Archives Division of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE Archives) and the Senate House Library. The Booth collection at LSE Archives contains the original records from Booth's survey into life and labour in London, dating from 1886 to 1903.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Calendar of Close Rolls This link opens in a new window
Calendar of State Papers provides administrative and legal history sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament) and the development of British law.

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Calendar of State Papers This link opens in a new window
Calendar of State Papers provides administrative and legal history sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament) and the development of British law.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey online This link opens in a new window
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey Online is a fully searchable edition of the published accounts of 197,745 trials held at the Old Bailey, London's central criminal court, between 1674 and 1913. Initially inexpensive, and targeted at a popular audience, the Proceedings were produced shortly after the conclusion of each sessions or meeting of the court. With the growth of newspapers and increasing publication costs the audience narrowed and by the 19th century was confined to lawyers and public officials.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
In total, the Proceedings comprise 127 million words of text, providing detailed accounts of witness testimony and court activity. In addition to the evidence provided about crime and criminal justice, the Proceedings provide richly detailed accounts of daily life in London. While most offences took place within London and Middlesex, from 1834 the court's jurisdiction expanded to include urban parts of Kent, Surrey and Essex. From this date a small number of more serious cases from other parts of England and Wales can also be found.
John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
London Lives This link opens in a new window
London Lives provides a fully searchable edition of 240,000 manuscript pages from eight London archives and 15 datasets, giving access to 3.5 million names.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Clergy of the Church of England Database This link opens in a new window
The Clergy of the Church of England Database 1540-1835 (CCEd), launched in 1999 and funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, makes available and searchable the principal records of clerical careers from over 50 archives in England and Wales with the aim of providing coverage of as many clerical lives as possible from the Reformation to the mid-nineteenth century.

Old Maps Online
This is the broadest single collection of historical maps from around the world available online. Still under development, it will act as a central repository to a vast collection of maps held by institutions across the globe.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this rrsource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)

Statistics

Click on the links below to see what statistics are available in your subject area:

History Data Service This link opens in a new window
The History Data Service data collection brings together over 650 separate studies transcribed, scanned or compiled from historical sources. The studies cover a wide range of historical topics, from the seventh century to the twentieth century. Although the primary focus of the collection is on the United Kingdom, it also includes a significant body of cross-national and international data collections.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)