LibGuides: RefWorks: RefWorks

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Learning Hub

You can contact the Learning Hub via email:

learninghub@tees.ac.uk

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

RefWorks

Login to RefWorks:

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based tool that allows you to create and manage your own personal database of useful references. You can then use these to quickly compile a bibliography for your reports and papers.

It also allows you to collaborate and share your research with colleagues.

What does it do?

You can import references directly from a number of online databases.
It allows you to organise, store and manage your references.
It allows you to automatically format your bibliography in a variety of styles.
It allows you to share your references with colleagues.

However : always check your bibliography, some editing may be required. You still need to have an understanding of the referencing style your School requires.

For further information and guidance see the further tabs at the top of this box.

For more help: please contact libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk.

To create a RefWorks account:

Go to http://refworks.proquest.com.
Click on Use login from my institution.
Choose Teesside University from the pull-down list of institutions.
Enter your university IT username and password.
Enter your University email address and select Check.
Fill in the form - enter your first and last name, your subject area and role within the university, Click on Next.
Keep selecting Next to go through some of the important features of using RefWorks then on Done.

Useful Links:

RefWorks workbook - getting started 2024/25
A shortened version of the workbook to help you with the basics of using RefWorks. For an accessible version see link below.
RefWorks workbook - getting started 2023/24 (Accessible version)
A shortened version of the workbook to help you with the basics of using RefWorks.
RefWorks workbook 2024/25
Full workbook from Student and Library Services which serves as an introduction to using RefWorks. For an accessible version see link below.
RefWorks workbook 2024/25 (Accessible version)
Fully accessible workbook from Student and Library Services which serves as an introduction to using RefWorks.

Online tutorials:

How to access RefWorks video

*Please note we recommend the access through your institution option*

The basic functionality of RefWorks:

There are a number of different ways to add references into your RefWorks account:

Building up your database
This document covers:
a) Exporting from Discovery into RefWorks.
b) Exporting directly from a specific online database.
c) Uploading a file directly into RefWorks.
d) Adding a reference manually.
e Exporting from Google Scholar.
f) Searching the online catalogues within RefWorks.
g) Saving web-page information to your RefWorks account.
Building up your database (Accessible version)

Online tutorials:

Once you have your references in your account you can organise and manage these in a variety of ways:

Organising and managing your references
This document covers:
a) Viewing your references.
b) Editing your references.
c) Adding attachments
d) Sorting your references.
e) Tags.
f) Deleting references.
g) Removing duplicates
h) Searching your database for references.
i) Using folders.
Organising and managing your references (Accessible version)

Online tutorials:

You can share your collection of references and collaborate with others who have a RefWorks account:

Sharing and collaboration
This document covers:
a) Sharing your collections.
b) Working with shared collections.
c) Working with Projects.
Sharing and collaboration (Accessible version)

RefWorks

Connect with us on social media

Contact the Learning Hub

RefWorks

To create a RefWorks account:

Useful Links:

Online tutorials:

Other useful links:

Online tutorials:

Other useful links:

Other useful links:

Online tutorials:

Other useful links: