LibGuides: Social Work: Essential Resources

Community Care Inform

Community Care Inform host demonstrations of how their platform can support you and also provide recorded presentations featuring experts who share the latest research and practice advice of specific areas of social work and children’s social care, and address practitioners’ questions.

eResources for Social Work research

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course. They have have the latest real time knowledge and cover a vast field of enquiry. Broaden and deepen your knowledge and understanding of your subject.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only. If prompted to login, most resources require your standard Teesside University Username and Password. Some resources may require a different login and details can be found in the description for each database. Third party accessibility information for each resource is also provided where possible. If you need help with these or any resource email libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

Community Care Inform - Adults
Online resource that enables social care professionals to make robust, evidence-based decisions.
To login to this resource:
Select 'Log In'
Search for 'Teesside University' in the Institution Login box
Click 'Find'
Click 'Teesside University' to confirm the correct institution
Click 'Login'
Login using your University email address and password

Can I access this resource?
To access Community Care Inform - Adults you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Community Care Inform - Adults licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Community Care Inform - Children
Provides online resources that enable social care professionals to make robust, evidence-based decisions.
To login to this resource:
Select 'Log In'
Search for 'Teesside University' in the Institution Login box
Click 'Find'
Click 'Teesside University' to confirm the correct institution
Click 'Login'
Login using your University email address and password

Can I access this resource?
To access Community Care Inform - Children you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Community Care Inform - Children licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
ASSIA
A bibliographic database which gives references (with abstracts) to the literature of the applied social sciences, including social policy, social services, society, family issues, economics, politics, employment, race relations, health, education and youth work.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
CINAHL Ultimate
Coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of journal articles, books, technical reports and dissertations in the field of psychology.
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Social Care Online
Access to the UK's most complete range of information and research on all aspects of social care.

Where else to search

Recommended resources

Lexis Plus (formerly LexisLibrary)
Legal database containing UK, EU and international case law, legislation, legal journals, commentary texts, current awareness, and news.
Can I access this resource?
To access Lexis Library you must be either:
- A UK-based Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A UK-based member of Teesside University Faculty or Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
The licence for Lexis Nexis includes the following terms:
- The material available on Lexis Library is only for educational purposes directly linked to academic coursework
- You may only print one single hard copy of up to ten documents
- You may only download one single copy of up to ten documents
A copy of the full terms of the Lexis Library licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Over 700 books and research reports available free from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation.

Go to a more comprehensive list of resources for your “Course” …

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.