Skip to main content

Information for ...

Contact us

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

  libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

  @TeesUniLib

  teesunilib 

  Teesside University Library

Telephone: 01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 09:00 - 17:00)

At the iZone on the ground floor of the Library during staffed opening hours

Library help live: Instant chat 4.45pm - 10.00am, 7 days per week at http://lis.tees.ac.uk

Feedback on our services

Can I use another library?

On occasions you may wish to have access to other libraries and resource centres, perhaps because you are studying away from the University campus, are a flexible learner, a part-time or placement student or because you want to consult a wider collection of materials for advanced study or research. There is a variety of resources available, some of the possibilities are detailed below.

Teesside University also participates in the SCONUL Access Scheme.

 

NHS LIbraries

Students from the School of Heath & Social Care employed by local trusts or on placement in the NHS will normally have access to local NHS libraries

 

Public Libraries

Generally, public libraries in Great Britain are free to access and they can offer a variety of services, e.g. collections of books and other materials for loan, reference materials and journals, interlibrary loans and in many cases Internet access. To join a library you would normally need to show ID bearing your address. Arrangements vary from one local authority to another, so check before your visit.

Information about individual academic libraries

If you plan to visit another library, it is useful to check opening times and access arrangements in advance. You can do this from individual institutions’ websites. Access to these is available from the UK Sensitive Map of University and HE Colleges at http://www.scit.wlv.ac.uk/ukinfo Web access to catalogues or OPACs is usually available too, so you can search individual library collections prior to a visit to check which libraries are most appropriate for your needs.

As well as individual library catalogues, it is also possible to access merged catalogues online. Perhaps the best example of these is COPAC http://copac.ac.uk which contains details of the collections in university and national libraries in the UK and Ireland.

The British Library

The British Library Documentation Centre at Boston Spa near Wetherby, North Yorkshire is a reading room holding items for consultation, for further information on the British library including use of the readings rooms, see the links below.

Other resources

SUNCAT - UK Union Catalogue of Serials - SUNCAT is an EDINA service which enables researchers and librarians to locate serials held in libraries throughout the UK. SUNCAT contains information on both print and electronic serials, including journals, periodicals, newspapers, newsletters, magazines, annual reports and other publications of a continuing nature. SUNCAT includes serials' information from over 60 UK libraries, including the British Library, the National Libraries of Scotland and Wales, some of the largest Higher Education institutions in the UK and a number of specialist libraries. Serials holdings from new libraries will be added over time.

WorldCat - WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

The Lit & Phil, Newcastle upon Tyne - The Literary & Philosophical Society (Lit & Phil) in Newcastle upon Tyne is the largest independent library outside London, housing over 150,000 books. There is also a large music library, without equal in the North of England, including 8,000 CDs and 10,000 LPs.