LibGuides: Art Psychotherapy : Books to inform, inspire and justify

Electronic books on Art Psychotherapy - click on the relevant image to get access

Reconsidering the Moveable Frame in Psychoanalysis

The Revealing Image : Analytical Art Psychotherapy in Theory and Practice

The Changing Shape of Art Therapy : New Developments in Theory and Practice

The maturational processes and the facilitating environment: studies in the theory of emotional development

The Archetypes and the Collective Unconscious

Introduction to the work of Melanie Klein

The Myth of Normal: Trauma, Illness & Healing in a Toxic Culture

The child, the family, and the outside world

The divided self: an existential study in sanity and madness

Assessment And Outcomes In The Arts Therapies

Being mortal: ageing, illness, medicine, and what matters in the end

Contemporary Practice in Studio Art Therapy

Mirroring and attunement: self realization in psychoanalysis and art

Psychogeotherapy : Revisioning Therapeutic Space

Art therapy, research and evidence-based practice

Person-centred therapy: the focusing-oriented approach

Inside lives: psychoanalysis and the development of personality

Handbook of mentalizing in mental health practice

Body keeps the score: mind, brain and body in the transformation of trauma

Drawing on difference : art therapy with people who have learning difficulties

Why I'm no longer talking to white people about race

The polyvagal theory : neurophysiological foundations of emotions, attachment, communication, and self-regulation

Therapeutic arts in pregnancy, birth, and new parenthood

Assessment and outcomes in the art therapies : a person-centred approach

Bridging the creative arts therapies and arts in health : toward inspirational practice

Virtual art therapy : research and practice

Trauma healing at the clay field : a sensorimotor art therapy approach

None of the above : reflections on life beyond the binary

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Ebooks are electronic versions of books.

The library subscribes to a number of ebook collections, of which the most useful are:

Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education includes books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a collection of over 210,000 books and other authoritative content to which we have full-text access. It covers multiple subject areas.
A short form may pop up asking you to indicate which School/Department you are in. Please pick from the drop-down list.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Please note that to download ebooks from Ebook Central you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your PC. If you want to access your downloaded content on multiple PCs or devices you will need to register for an Adobe ID - further guidance on this can be found on the EBook Central Help Site
If you are on campus, Digital Editions can be found in AppsAnywhere. You will need to open this software before attempting to download the book.
Can I access this resource?
To access E-Book Central you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the E-Book Central licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
The library provides some e-book content via the VLeBooks platform.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access VLeBooks you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.

For more help and advice on using e-books go to:

E-books@Tees

MORE BOOKS: Send us your recommendations

More Books enables you to suggest a new book purchase.

We know from your feedback that sometimes you can’t get hold of the books you need.

Let us know if there are any titles that you would like us to add to the Library stock and we will consider your request.

Simply complete the short online form and don’t forget to include your Teesside University email address so that we can respond to you.

Open access resources

Directory of Open Access Books
A searchable directory of over 1600 openly accessible academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers
Open Research Library
Open Textbook Library