LibGuides: Comics and Graphic Novels: eResources for Inspiration

eResources for inspiration

Inspire
More eResources to Inspire

Are you looking for ideas to inspire a creative project?

The following resources could help you.

Stash This link opens in a new window
Online video library of animation, VFX and motion design
To search Stash
•Click on 'Library' followed by 'Login'

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full screen version

Gnomon Workshop This link opens in a new window
With over 300 titles, The Gnomon Workshop library covers a myriad of subjects and techniques. Choose from lessons in design, drawing, painting, modeling, texturing, rigging, effects, and animation to create your desired path and learn at a pace that suits you. The Gnomon Workshop aims to supplement and guide artists’ journeys.
Accessing Gnomon Workshop
You do not need to log in to access Gnomon Workshop if you are on campus.
To log in off campus you will need to use your University email address and password to get access to the site but no further login is required.

Can I access this resource?
To access Gnomon Workshop you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Gnomon Workshop can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Sway about why you should use Gnomon Workshop

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full-screen version

What top industry experts think about Gnomon Workshop

Rhino House This link opens in a new window
Rhino House provides video references to animators and artists. It covers the way in which creatures interact, behave, and move about, including the colours, textures, and shapes that make each species so unique.
It should inspire artists to produce extraordinary artwork... to create their own stage, characters, and story.
For information on how to access Rhino House go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access Rhino House you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Rhino House licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

The short video introduces Rhino House and what it is ... (Video duration 01:17)

Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. It holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines. The online collection contains 35,000 cartoon images.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration is required to create a collection of favourite cartoons which will be visible everytime you login. To use an image for 'non-commercial educational context in the UK' select Teesside University from the list of institutions and agree to the terms and conditions, you will then be prompted with a Shibboleth login screen, insert your ICT username and password.

Why use the British Cartoon Archive?

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Why use Box of Broadcasts?

3dtotal
A comprehensive platform for online artists, offering a variety of free tutorials, informative interviews, and an inspirational gallery.

Print Comics & Graphic Novels

Go to https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/comics_and_graphic_novels/comics to view some of the comics and graphic novels available on Floor 3, The Library.

Are you looking for ideas to inspire a creative project?

The following resources could help you.

Comixology
Comixology has a library of free comics
The Grand Comics Database (GCD)
The GCD is a nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world.
Don Markstein's Toonopedia
An open repository of toonological knowledge
Comic Book Resources
Comic Book Resources, also known as CBR, is a website dedicated to the coverage of comic book-related news and discussion.
Cover Browser
Cover Browser displays galleries of comic book (and book, pulp, games, DVD or magazine) cover
Digital Comic Museum
Browse, preview and download public domain golden age comics
Marvel Comics Database
A wiki-based resource
DC Comics Database
A wiki-based resource
Cartoon Research
Jerry Beck's website devoted to animation history
Animation & Cartoons (Internet Archive)
Watch classic cartoons
Animation World Network
The Animation World Network is the largest animation-related publishing group on the Internet
ArtStation
ArtStation provides you with a simple, yet powerful way to show your portfolio and be seen by the right people in the industry
Living Lines Library
A blog with a collection of animated lines
Thinking Animation
An animation portal, blog and learning resource where animators can inspire, share, and study.

Motionographer
Aims to provide inspiration and insight for designers, animators and storytellers of all stripes
Comic Books and Graphic Novels (Internet Archive)
Huge collection of Comic Books and Graphic Novels
The Solomon Society on YouTube
YouTuber The Solomon Society produce supercuts of the most beautiful moments captured on film and other movie stuff, including animation
Cartoon Brew
Cartoon Brew delivers the latest news, trends and ideas in animation
Behance.net
Showcase and discover the latest work from top online portfolios by creative professionals across industries.
InspirationGrid
Bringing you the best creative stores from around the world
Art of the Title
Art of the Title is the definitive resource for title sequence design, spanning the film, television, conference, and video game industries.
Adobe Create Magazine
Create is Adobe’s online magazine by creatives, for creatives. Visit us for inspiration and tutorials on photography, illustration, graphic design, UI/UX design, motion graphics, video, and more.
ConceptArt.org
Art Forums
Polycount
Polycount is a website and community of professional & hobbyist artists that specialize in creating 3D art for video games.