LibGuides: Comics and Graphic Novels: eResources for Techniques

eResources for techniques

Inform

Do you want to improve your techniques in areas such as rigging, motion capture, drawing, animating and texturing?

Use the following resources to help develop your techniques.

Gnomon Workshop This link opens in a new window
With over 300 titles, The Gnomon Workshop library covers a myriad of subjects and techniques. Choose from lessons in design, drawing, painting, modeling, texturing, rigging, effects, and animation to create your desired path and learn at a pace that suits you. The Gnomon Workshop aims to supplement and guide artists’ journeys.
Accessing Gnomon Workshop
You do not need to log in to access Gnomon Workshop if you are on campus.
To log in off campus you will need to use your University email address and password to get access to the site but no further login is required.

Can I access this resource?
To access Gnomon Workshop you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Gnomon Workshop can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Sway about why you should use Gnomon Workshop

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full screen version

What top industry experts think about Gnomon Workshop

GDC Vault This link opens in a new window
GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access GDC Vault go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access GDC Vault you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
GDC Vault Terms and Conditions
GDC Vault Privacy Policy
Rhino House This link opens in a new window
Rhino House provides video references to animators and artists. It covers the way in which creatures interact, behave, and move about, including the colours, textures, and shapes that make each species so unique.
It should inspire artists to produce extraordinary artwork... to create their own stage, characters, and story.
For information on how to access Rhino House go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access Rhino House you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Rhino House licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

The short video introduces Rhino House and what it is ... (Video duration 01:17)

Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

Stash This link opens in a new window
Online video magazine of animation, VFX and motion design
To search Stash
•Click on 'Library' followed by 'Login'

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full screen version

3dtotal tutorials
Featuring one of the largest collections of digital art tutorials online, 3dtotal is proud of its vast and extensive database of insightful, free to use content.
Motionographer
Aims to provide inspiration and insight for designers, animators and storytellers of all stripes