LibGuides: Concept Art: eResources for Inspiration

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Are you looking for ideas to inspire a creative project?

The following resources could help you.

Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Stash This link opens in a new window
Online video library of animation, VFX and motion design
To search Stash
•Click on 'Library' followed by 'Login'

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full-screen version

Gnomon Workshop This link opens in a new window
Gnomon workshop offers online tutorials by industry professionals to help you improve your skills as a character, vehicle, product or set designer or using cutting-edge 3D software techniques used in the video game, broadcast and film VFX industries.
Accessing Gnomon Workshop
You do not need to log in to access Gnomon Workshop if you are on campus.
To log in off campus you will need to use your University email address and password to get access to the site but no further login is required.

Can I access this resource?
To access Gnomon Workshop you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Gnomon Workshop can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Sway about why you should use Gnomon Workshop

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full-screen version

Rhino House This link opens in a new window
Video & motion clips allow the study of animal and human motion in great detail for you to enhance the way your creations interact, behave and move.
For information on how to access Rhino House go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access Rhino House you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Rhino House licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Why use Rhino House?

British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window
This online archive is dedicated to the history of British cartooning
Registration is required to create a collection of favourite cartoons which will be visible everytime you login. To use an image for 'non-commercial educational context in the UK' select Teesside University from the list of institutions and agree to the terms and conditions, you will then be prompted with a Shibboleth login screen, insert your ICT username and password.

Why use the British Cartoon Archive?

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is an on demand TV and radio service for education from over 65 free-to-air channels
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Why use Box of Broadcasts?

3dtotal
A comprehensive platform for online artists, offering a variety of free tutorials, informative interviews, and an inspirational gallery.

Are you looking for ideas to inspire a creative project?

The following resources could help you.

Motionographer
Inspiration can come from anywhere, and the Motionographer contributors hope to provide you with interesting material regardless of the medium in which it was created.
Videogame Videos (Internet Archive)
This project aims to preserve all kinds of video files relating to videogames.
The Solomon Society on YouTube
YouTuber The Solomon Society produce supercuts of the most beautiful moments captured on film and other movie stuff, including animation
Cartoon Brew
Cartoon Brew delivers the latest news, trends and ideas in animation
Behance.net
Showcase and discover the latest work from top online portfolios by creative professionals across industries.
InspirationGrid
Bringing you the best creative stores from around the world
Art of the Title
Art of the Title is the definitive resource for title sequence design, spanning the film, television, conference, and video game industries.
Adobe Create Magazine
Create is Adobe’s online magazine by creatives, for creatives. Visit us for inspiration and tutorials on photography, illustration, graphic design, UI/UX design, motion graphics, video, and more.
MobyGames
A large video game database covering over 240 platforms from 1950 to date! Aims to catalog all relevant information - credits, screenshots, formats, and release info - about electronic games (computer, console, and arcade).
Animation World Network
The Animation World Network is the largest animation-related publishing group on the Internet
ConceptArt.org
Art Forums
ArtStation
ArtStation provides you with a simple, yet powerful way to show your portfolio and be seen by the right people in the industry
GameSpot
GameSpot is a source for video game news, reviews, previews, trailers, ...
Polycount
Polycount is a website and community of professional & hobbyist artists that specialize in creating 3D art for video games.
PixelProspector
PixelProspector offers info about game development related stuff and video games
Ukie
Ukie, pronounced you-key, (UK Interactive Entertainment) is the only trade body for the UK's games and interactive entertainment industry.
Unity - YouTube
Unity is the creator of the world’s most widely-used real-time 3D (RT3D) development platform
Unity Blog
Living Lines Library
A blog with a collection of animated lines
Thinking Animation
An animation portal, blog and learning resource where animators can inspire, share, and study.
Cartoon Research
Jerry Beck's website devoted to animation history
Animation & Cartoons (Internet Archive)
Watch classic cartoons
Firestarter Magazine
This magazine is intended to be a network node for the creative community. You need to self-register your details to download this magazine for free. All that is required is an email plus the creation of your own username and password.