You may need to use images, video or sound in your assignments. The databases below contain still and moving images and audio clips.
Visit the Copyright LibGuide for guidance on using sources of information.
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. It holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines. The online collection contains 35,000 cartoon images.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
** Currently Unavailable **
Listen to a selection from the British Library's extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Representing over 250 years of active collecting and curation, the British Museum Image Collection of prints and drawings (a subset of which is searchable through Connected Histories) is simply one of the most comprehensive collections of images on paper in the world.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
This Gateway includes 1,800 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Allows you access to The National Archives' collection of digitised public records, including both academic and family history sources.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
A database of British cinema newsreels from 1910 to 1979. Contains 160,000 records from 21 newsreels and cinemagazines, 80,000 digitised newsreel production documents, and a wide range of information resources, including oral history recordings, film availability sources and online articles. 40,000 records link to free low-resolution downloadable copies from the British Pathe web site.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Screen Online is an online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) is an online resource for the visual arts.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in archives where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. By building a seamless research environment for multiple collections, Gale is creating the largest digital humanities and social sciences collection in the world. **Please note that the holdings for Teesside University cover the period 1600 – 1913**
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Lexis Plus (Lexis+) is a legal database containing UK, EU and international case law, legislation, legal journals, commentary texts, current awareness, and news. The database provides access to full text online legal and news information services and contains a range of practitioner texts including Butterworths Company Law Handbook and Butterworths Family Law Service as well as All England Law Reports, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, and Halsbury's Laws. A full-text collection of several UK broadsheet, tabloid and local newspapers is also included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.
Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
This link opens in a new windowFacsimile edition of the Times 1785-2019. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times, to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)