LibGuides: Electronics and Control Engineering: Essential resources

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Essential Reources

Searching for information

The following resources are considered the most useful for your course.

IEEE Xplore
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Search over 3 million full-text documents
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access IEEE Xplore you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the IEEE Xplore licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
Scopus
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/systematicsearching/

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Other useful resources

General engineering resources

We have provided links to some key resources for your course below.

For a more comprehensive list of resources for life sciences, click on the link below.

Comprehensive list of resources for engineering

British Standards Online
Full-text access to British Standards. Teesside University students do not have to pay for standards that are part of our subscription.
Please read this Important Copyright Information before using British Standards Online.
If a standard is downloaded on a University PC it will be saved to the C drive of that PC. Please move or save this to your homespace or USB for future use and/or print. To download a standard on your own device you will need the FileOpen plug-in installed.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access British Standards Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP Student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
The licence for British Standards Online includes the following terms:
- The material available on British Standards Online is for educational use only
- You may only print one hard copy of any document
- You may only make one electronic copy of any document and this may not be copied or circulated electronically
- Copied extracts must be deleted on expiry of the subscription
The full British Standards Online licence can be found by following the link below
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
ScienceDirect
An extremely popular comprehensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)