Finding Digital Media, Newspapers & Statistics - Hyper Island - UK & International Learners

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Digital Media, Newspapers & Statistics

Digital Media

You may need to use images, video or sound in your assignments. The databases below contain still and moving images and audio clips.

Moving Image Gateway

This Gateway includes 1,800 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
News on Screen

A database of British cinema newsreels from 1910 to 1979. Contains 160,000 records from 21 newsreels and cinemagazines, 80,000 digitised newsreel production documents, and a wide range of information resources, including oral history recordings, film availability sources and online articles. 40,000 records link to free low-resolution downloadable copies from the British Pathe web site.
Available through Learning on Screen. You may be asked to identify your home institution ‘Teesside University’ and to create an account. It is the same credentials as those used for ‘Box of Broadcasts’ (another Learning on Screen service)
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Screen Online

Screen Online is an online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities.

Off-campus access is not possible for this database
British Cartoon Archive

The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. It holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines. The online collection contains 35,000 cartoon images.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

Registration is required to create a collection of favourite cartoons which will be visible everytime you login. To use an image for 'non-commercial educational context in the UK' select Teesside University from the list of institutions and agree to the terms and conditions, you will then be prompted with a Shibboleth login screen, insert your ICT username and password.

Newspapers

The Library provides access to current print newspapers and a large collection of newspaper online archives.

Historical Newspapers: Guardian/Observer
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Historical Newspapers: Guardian & Observer you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Historical Newspapers licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
NewsBank: Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.

Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PressReader

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Times Digital Archive
Facsimile edition of the Times 1785-2019. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times, to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Times Digital Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Times Digital Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Statistics

Click on the links below to see what statistics are available in your subject area: