Essential resources - Hyper Island - UK & International Learners

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Essential Resources for your subjects

Essential Resources

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course. They have have the latest real time knowledge and cover a vast field of enquiry. Broaden and deepen your knowledge and understanding of your subject.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only. If prompted to login, most resources require your standard Teesside University Username and Password. Some resources may require a different login and details can be found in the description for each database. Third party accessibility information for each resource is also provided where possible. If you need help with these or any resource email libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library provides access to the full-text of articles from journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Can I access this resource?
To access ACM Digital Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the ACM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Bibliographies Modern
ABM provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Art Bibliographies Modern can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles from journals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected journals is also included.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Business Source Ultimate
Coverage includes business and management journal articles, financial data, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Design and Applied Arts Index
DAAI indexes articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier
Full text journal articles covering; HR, business, management, strategy, marketing, accounting, finance & economics
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
IEEE Xplore
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Search over 3 million full-text documents
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access IEEE Xplore you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the IEEE Xplore licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
Mintel Oxygen
Mintel is a marketing database containing detailed reports on current market information including subjects such as leisure, consumer goods, travel, retail and industrial reports.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
ScienceDirect
A comprehensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals including business and management.
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Scopus
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
WARC
Coverage includes marketing and advertising data.
Can I access this resource?
To access WARC you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic Staff
- A member of Teesside University Library Staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Your access to and use of the Services is restricted and is permitted for the Users’ own educational, research and academic purposes only except that your employees may use a reasonable amount of the Services into course or study packs for your students’ educational purposes. You may not designate any other individuals (including employees and individual contractors of your Affiliates) as Users. You agree not to permit any third-party to access the Services except as expressly authorized in a separate Third-Party Access Agreement provided by us. We will identify and authenticate Users by using IP addresses and/or ranges of IP addresses provided by you. Users may only access the Services via your secured network. You will make reasonable efforts to ensure that Users are aware of the rights and restrictions governing the access and use of the Services as contained in this Contract and that these rights and restriction are complied with. Immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized use or other breach by any User, you will inform us and take all reasonable and appropriate steps, including disciplinary action both to ensure that such activity ceases and to prevent any recurrence.
A copy of the full terms of the WARC licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.