LibGuides: MBA Cultural and Creative Leader: eResources for Research

eResources for art research

Add academic value to your assignments by searching the following resources to locate research and other useful material on artists, modelling, character design, storytelling, iconography, art history, pre and post-production, developing style, game environments and significance. Research articles and conference papers can give weight to your arguments whether you agree or disagree with the point of view of the author.

Most will provide an abstract for the article to summarise what it is about - read this to see if you want to access the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If the full text is not available, then click on the Find It @ Tees button as this will check for access elsewhere.

Please note that all resources are provided for educational use only.

Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection
A comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is an online database that indexes articles from art journals published throughout the world.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Bloomsbury Visual Arts
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across art, design and related fields.
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

Design and Applied Arts Index
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Bibliographies Modern
ABM provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Art Bibliographies Modern can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text collection of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art and Architecture Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art and Architecture Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Arts & Humanities Database
This online platform features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Can I access this resource?
To access the Art and Architecture Archive, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for the Art and Architecture Archive can be found below

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
BHA & RILA
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive collection of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
International Bibliography of Art
Go-to resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)
Taylor and Francis Online
Search and explore the peer-reviewed journal articles published under Taylor & Francis and Routledge.
Can I access this resource?
To access Taylor and Francis Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Taylor and Francis Journals Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to Z)
an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter)
a-n magazine is a key source for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice.
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

To get the best experience from this Sway use the full-screen version.

AMAculturehive
A free online resource hub for cultural professionals that brings the collective intelligence of the sector together in one place. It’s run by the Arts Marketing Association, a diverse team of people passionate about engaging the public in the arts, heritage and culture.
CultureHive Resources
The Centre for Cultural Value and the Arts Marketing Association’s knowledge hub, culturehive are working together to help create a better understanding of the differences that culture makes to people’s lives. The partnership has led to the development of a new section of CultureHive. It includes resources on research, evaluation and critical reflection.
Curator: The Museum Journal
Curator: The Museum Journal provides a platform for museum professionals to explore, debate, and discuss the current practices, issues, and policies that museums are facing. As a museology and museum studies journal, it presents perspectives from global experts and practitioners on the cutting-edge of museum innovation and development.
Human Relations
Human Relations addresses the social relations in and around work – across the levels of immediate personal relationships, organizations and their processes, and wider political and economic systems. It is international in its scope. The journal is grounded in critical social science that challenges orthodoxies and questions current organizational structures and practices.
The Leadership Quarterly
The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications. The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications.
Leadership
Leadership is the leading scholarly journal in the field of researching leadership studies, at the cutting edge of the theory and practice of leadership and organization. The main emphasis in the journal is on interdisciplinary, diverse and critical analyses of leadership processes in contemporary organizations and society.
Journal of Leadership Studies
The Journal of Leadership Studies is intended for both practitioners and scholars who are engaged in leadership inquiry and endeavors. The audience includes scholars, business scholars, business leaders, managers, administrators and other individuals who seek to further their leadership understanding and competence.
Leadership & Organization Development Journal (LODJ)
LODJ explores the practical application of leadership and organization development theory in order to identify its relevance for managerial practice. It focuses on the interpretation of research and how the results of research may be translated into practice.
Project Leadership and Society (PLAS)
PLAS is an academic and gold open access journal published in collaboration with the International Project Management Association (IPMA). PLAS articles study the interaction between projects, project leadership, project management on the one hand, and economic, social, political and organizational processes, on the other.
Business Ethics and Leadership
Business Ethics and Leadership is a peer-reviewed international gold open access journal. It spreads results of theoretical and empirical studies as well as the best global practices for ethical standards and leadership in business. The journal publishes fundamental and applied research results, conceptual and empirical articles, analytical thematic studies and critical reviews.

AMAculturehive
A free online resource hub for cultural professionals that brings the collective intelligence of the sector together in one place. It’s run by the Arts Marketing Association, a diverse team of people passionate about engaging the public in the arts, heritage and culture.
CultureHive Resources
The Centre for Cultural Value and the Arts Marketing Association’s knowledge hub, culturehive are working together to help create a better understanding of the differences that culture makes to people’s lives. The partnership has led to the development of a new section of CultureHive. It includes resources on research, evaluation and critical reflection.
Curator: The Museum Journal
Curator: The Museum Journal provides a platform for museum professionals to explore, debate, and discuss the current practices, issues, and policies that museums are facing. As a museology and museum studies journal, it presents perspectives from global experts and practitioners on the cutting-edge of museum innovation and development.
On-Curating Journal (Online)
The OnCurating journal is independent with focus on curating both on the web and in print. The publications are openly accessible on the website. It collaborates with different partner institutions.
e-flux Journal
e-flux’s announcements deliver the latest press releases of key art exhibitions relevant to an international public. Its online archive reaches back two decades, forming a unique art historical resource on global contemporary art exhibitions, curatorial concepts, and artistic ideas.

OnCurating titles available online - Click on the image to get full-text access

e-flux Journal titles available online - Click on the image to get full-text access

Science Museum Group Journal
The Science Museum Group Journal is an open-access online publication presenting the global research community with peer-reviewed papers that are relevant to the Science Museum Group’s collection and practice and to the wider international museum community.
International Journal of Cultural Policy
The International Journal of Cultural Policy is a peer reviewed journal that provides an outlet for a multidisciplinary and international exploration of the meaning, function and consequences of cultural policies. Cultural policy is understood as the promotion or disparagement of particular cultural practices and values.
Human Relations
Human Relations addresses the social relations in and around work – across the levels of immediate personal relationships, organizations and their processes, and wider political and economic systems. It is international in its scope. The journal is grounded in critical social science that challenges orthodoxies and questions current organizational structures and practices.
The Leadership Quarterly
The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications. The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications.
Leadership
Leadership is the leading scholarly journal in the field of researching leadership studies, at the cutting edge of the theory and practice of leadership and organization. The main emphasis in the journal is on interdisciplinary, diverse and critical analyses of leadership processes in contemporary organizations and society.
Journal of Leadership Studies
The Journal of Leadership Studies is intended for both practitioners and scholars who are engaged in leadership inquiry and endeavors. The audience includes scholars, business scholars, business leaders, managers, administrators and other individuals who seek to further their leadership understanding and competence.

To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

Aesthetica - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).
Art in America - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).
Elephant - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles include:


International Artist	London Magazine	Art Press

October
At the forefront of art criticism and theory, October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts—film, painting, music, media, photography, performance, sculpture, and literature.

Business Source Ultimate
Comprehensive database for business & industry research.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering on topics such as leadership.
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Mintel Oxygen
Market research reports providing information on market size and trends.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
FAME
FAME provides access to company data including: company accounts, contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Campaign UK
Online magazine serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.
Logging in to Campaign
To Gain access, you will need to register with Campaign using your Teesside University email address - personal email addresses will not work.
To register use your Teesside University email address and select a unique password. You will receive a 'Welcome' email meaning your account is set up, and you do not need to complete the 'About You' page for access. If you choose to, enter 'Teesside University', 'Student/Academic' and 'Education' where applicable.
By signing up to this site you will be supplying personal data to Haymarket and should ensure that you are comfortable with their privacy notice (below)
Privacy Notice (This link opens in a new window)

Newspapers can be really useful primary sources for both up-to-date and historical research. They reflect the time period, the society and the culture in which they were published.

NewsBank: Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PressReader
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles include:

International Artist

London Magazine

Art Press

Journal articles

What are journals?

They are: Journals

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

AMAculturehive

A free online resource hub for cultural professionals that brings the collective intelligence of the sector together in one place. It’s run by the Arts Marketing Association, a diverse team of people passionate about engaging the public in the arts, heritage and culture.
CultureHive Resources

The Centre for Cultural Value and the Arts Marketing Association’s knowledge hub, culturehive are working together to help create a better understanding of the differences that culture makes to people’s lives. The partnership has led to the development of a new section of CultureHive. It includes resources on research, evaluation and critical reflection.
Curator: The Museum Journal

Curator: The Museum Journal provides a platform for museum professionals to explore, debate, and discuss the current practices, issues, and policies that museums are facing. As a museology and museum studies journal, it presents perspectives from global experts and practitioners on the cutting-edge of museum innovation and development.
Human Relations

Human Relations addresses the social relations in and around work – across the levels of immediate personal relationships, organizations and their processes, and wider political and economic systems. It is international in its scope. The journal is grounded in critical social science that challenges orthodoxies and questions current organizational structures and practices.
The Leadership Quarterly

The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications. The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications.
Leadership

Leadership is the leading scholarly journal in the field of researching leadership studies, at the cutting edge of the theory and practice of leadership and organization. The main emphasis in the journal is on interdisciplinary, diverse and critical analyses of leadership processes in contemporary organizations and society.
Journal of Leadership Studies

The Journal of Leadership Studies is intended for both practitioners and scholars who are engaged in leadership inquiry and endeavors. The audience includes scholars, business scholars, business leaders, managers, administrators and other individuals who seek to further their leadership understanding and competence.
Leadership & Organization Development Journal (LODJ)

LODJ explores the practical application of leadership and organization development theory in order to identify its relevance for managerial practice. It focuses on the interpretation of research and how the results of research may be translated into practice.
Project Leadership and Society (PLAS)

PLAS is an academic and gold open access journal published in collaboration with the International Project Management Association (IPMA). PLAS articles study the interaction between projects, project leadership, project management on the one hand, and economic, social, political and organizational processes, on the other.
Business Ethics and Leadership

Business Ethics and Leadership is a peer-reviewed international gold open access journal. It spreads results of theoretical and empirical studies as well as the best global practices for ethical standards and leadership in business. The journal publishes fundamental and applied research results, conceptual and empirical articles, analytical thematic studies and critical reviews.

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Developing Keywords