LibGuides: Housing Innovation & Design and Interior Design: Essential resources

eResources for Research

Databases are specialist online collections that search for quality information, such as journal articles, in specific subject areas.

For help searching contact your Art & Creative Industries Librarians. Details on the Home page

Please note that all resources are provided for educational use only.

Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art research featuring full-text articles covering fine art, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Design and Applied Arts Index
DAAI is the leading source to search for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts. Subject coverage includes textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Bloomsbury Visual Arts
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection
A comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text collection of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art and Architecture Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art and Architecture Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Can I access this resource?
To access the Art and Architecture Archive, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for the Art and Architecture Archive can be found below

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Standards Online
Full-text access to British Standards. Teesside University students do not have to pay for standards that are part of our subscription.
Can I access this resource?
To access British Standards Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP Student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
The licence for British Standards Online includes the following terms:
- The material available on British Standards Online is for educational use only
- You may only print one hard copy of any document
- You may only make one electronic copy of any document and this may not be copied or circulated electronically
- Copied extracts must be deleted on expiry of the subscription
The full British Standards Online licence can be found by following the link below
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
International Bibliography of Art
Go-to resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)
RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online
This is an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library; a catalogue of the books, audio visual materials and drawings acquired by the RIBA Library; a catalogue of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection.
GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.
Construction Information Service - CIS

Construction Information Service is a comprehensive source of technical standards legislation and technical guidance for construction industry professionals.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Construction Information Service & Specify It you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Construction Information Service & Specify It licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
ICE Virtual Library
The ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) Virtual Library gives access to one of the largest repositories of civil engineering papers in the world.
Can I access this resource?
To access ICE Virtual Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the ICE licences can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)

Click on the links below to access the e-journal titles. To access some e-journals off campus you may need to use your University email and password.

Architecture and Culture
Contains articles from experts of culture, architecture, geographers, anthropologists, architect, urban designers, film-makers, animators and other artists related to architecture.
Architecture Philosophy
Aims to bring the rigor of philosophic investigation to the consideration of architecture’s most basic concepts and the centrality of architecture in modern life.
Case Studies in Construction Materials
Aims to provide a compendium of case studies for practicing engineers, designers, researchers and other practitioners who are interested in all aspects of construction materials.
City, Territory and Architecture
Explores the conceptual and physical relations between city, territory and architecture.
Construction and Building Materials
Covers the development, application and performance of materials in all aspects of major project architecture and civil engineering.
Construction Management and Economics
Focuses on research, case studies and innovative practice in the building industry; subjects include architecture, building, civil engineering, economics, management, planning and surveying.
Home Cultures: the journal of architecture, design and domestic space
This journal is dedicated to the critical understanding of the domestic sphere across timeframes and cultures.
Interior Architecture of China
Chinese language journal.
Interior Design
A journal for professionals who design office, commercial establishment and residential interiors.
Interiors : Design, Architecture, Culture
This journal brings together the best critical work on the analysis of all types of spaces.
International Journal of Construction Education and Research
Keeps construction educators and practitioners with access to information, ideas, and materials for improving and updating their understanding of the construction industry and construction education.
International Journal of Housing Markets and Analysis
International Journal of Housing Markets and Analysis aims to provide an holistic view of housing through its coverage of varied and diverse aspects of the housing industry including, amongst others, finance, demography, valuation and planning.
The International Journal of Construction Management
Aims to advance the knowledge of construction management.
The Journal of Architecture
Seeks views relevant to the future of architecture and its reception internationally, encouraging independent critical debate.
Journal of Construction Engineering and Management
Aims to advance the science of construction engineering, to harmonize construction practices with design theories, and to further education and research in construction engineering and management
The Journal of Construction in Developing Countries
JCDC is a scholarly peer-reviewed international publication, invaluable to those who are interested in the issues relevant to the built environment of developing countries.
Journal of Interior Design
Focuses on research in the interior design profession and education, including related fields.
Journal of Landscape Architecture
This journal focuses on landscape architecture in Europe, but it includes global perspectives.
Journal of Sustainable Architecture and Civil Engineering
This journal covers experimental and theoretical research on the aspects of sustainability in the fields of civil engineering and architecture.
Journal of Traditional Building, Architecture and Urbanism
Presents research related to the theory and practice of traditional building, architecture and urbanism.
Screen Printing
Aimed at all types of screen printers. Features tips, new products, technology updates, and industry news.

Business Source Ultimate
Comprehensive database for business & industry research.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering on topics such as marketing.
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Mintel Oxygen
Market research reports providing information on market size and trends.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
WARC
Coverage includes marketing and advertising data.
Can I access this resource?
To access WARC you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic Staff
- A member of Teesside University Library Staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Your access to and use of the Services is restricted and is permitted for the Users’ own educational, research and academic purposes only except that your employees may use a reasonable amount of the Services into course or study packs for your students’ educational purposes. You may not designate any other individuals (including employees and individual contractors of your Affiliates) as Users. You agree not to permit any third-party to access the Services except as expressly authorized in a separate Third-Party Access Agreement provided by us. We will identify and authenticate Users by using IP addresses and/or ranges of IP addresses provided by you. Users may only access the Services via your secured network. You will make reasonable efforts to ensure that Users are aware of the rights and restrictions governing the access and use of the Services as contained in this Contract and that these rights and restriction are complied with. Immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized use or other breach by any User, you will inform us and take all reasonable and appropriate steps, including disciplinary action both to ensure that such activity ceases and to prevent any recurrence.
A copy of the full terms of the WARC licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
FAME
FAME provides access to company data including: company accounts, contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Campaign UK

Serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

Logging in to Campaign
To Gain access, you will need to register with Campaign using your Teesside University email address - personal email addresses will not work.
To register use your Teesside University email address and select a unique password. You will receive a 'Welcome' email meaning your account is set up, and you do not need to complete the 'About You' page for access. If you choose to, enter 'Teesside University', 'Student/Academic' and 'Education' where applicable.
By signing up to this site you will be supplying personal data to Haymarket and should ensure that you are comfortable with their privacy notice (below)
Privacy Notice (This link opens in a new window)

Sway - Top resources for Interior Architecture & Design and MOBIE

Journal articles

Journals for your subject
What are journals & why should I use them?

Click on the links below to access the e-journal titles. To access some e-journals off campus you may need to use your University email and password.

Architecture and Culture
Contains articles from experts of culture, architecture, geographers, anthropologists, architect, urban designers, film-makers, animators and other artists related to architecture.
Architecture Philosophy
Aims to bring the rigor of philosophic investigation to the consideration of architecture’s most basic concepts and the centrality of architecture in modern life.
Case Studies in Construction Materials
Aims to provide a compendium of case studies for practicing engineers, designers, researchers and other practitioners who are interested in all aspects of construction materials.
City, Territory and Architecture
Explores the conceptual and physical relations between city, territory and architecture.
Construction and Building Materials
Covers the development, application and performance of materials in all aspects of major project architecture and civil engineering.
Construction Management and Economics
Focuses on research, case studies and innovative practice in the building industry; subjects include architecture, building, civil engineering, economics, management, planning and surveying.
Home Cultures: the journal of architecture, design and domestic space
This journal is dedicated to the critical understanding of the domestic sphere across timeframes and cultures.
Interior Architecture of China
Chinese language journal.
Interior Design
A journal for professionals who design office, commercial establishment and residential interiors.
Interiors : Design, Architecture,Culture
This journal brings together the best critical work on the analysis of all types of spaces.
International Journal of Construction Education and Research
Keeps construction educators and practitioners with access to information, ideas, and materials for improving and updating their understanding of the construction industry and construction education.
International Journal of Housing Markets and Analysis
International Journal of Housing Markets and Analysis aims to provide an holistic view of housing through its coverage of varied and diverse aspects of the housing industry including, amongst others, finance, demography, valuation and planning.
The International Journal of Construction Management
Aims to advance the knowledge of construction management.
The Journal of Architecture
Seeks views relevant to the future of architecture and its reception internationally, encouraging independent critical debate.
Journal of Construction Engineering and Management
Aims to advance the science of construction engineering, to harmonize construction practices with design theories, and to further education and research in construction engineering and management
The Journal of Construction in Developing Countries
JCDC is a scholarly peer-reviewed international publication, invaluable to those who are interested in the issues relevant to the built environment of developing countries.
Journal of Interior Design
Focuses on research in the interior design profession and education, including related fields.
Journal of Landscape Architecture
This journal focuses on landscape architecture in Europe, but it includes global perspectives.
Journal of Sustainable Architecture and Civil Engineering
This journal covers experimental and theoretical research on the aspects of sustainability in the fields of civil engineering and architecture.
Journal of Traditional Building, Architecture and Urbanism
Presents research related to the theory and practice of traditional building, architecture and urbanism.
Screen Printing
Aimed at all types of screen printers. Features tips, new products, technology updates, and industry news.

What are journals?

They are: Journals

Like magazines but of a scholarly nature.
Published at regular intervals.
Contain articles on a variety of topics.
The articles are written by different authors.
In printed and electronic formats.

Why Should I use them?

You should use them in your studies because:

Journal turnover time is much quicker than for a book.
Using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
Journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format.
Subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books.
Quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

Scholarly/peer reviewed means:

Written by a professional/expert, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published.
Longer articles, heavily text based.
Charts, tables, statistics and images.
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.