LibGuides: Public Administration: Finding Journal Articles

Journal Articles

What are journals?

They are:

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What does peer reviewed mean?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Finding Journals

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Doing a Literature Search

Developing Keywords

Databases for your subject

Using databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journal articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your Social Sciences, Humanities and Law information team. Details on the Home page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only.

ASSIA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASSIA is a bibliographic database which gives references (with abstracts) to the literature of the applied social sciences, including social policy, social services, society, family issues, economics, politics, employment, race relations, health, education and youth work. The abstracts are taken from over 550 English language journals from 16 countries. Coverage is from 1987, with information being updated monthly.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
British History Online This link opens in a new window
British History Online provides administrative and legal history sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament) and the development of British law.

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access British History Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the British History Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th Century to the early 20th, comprising millions of high resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
We have now added Collections III and IV to this database, providing selected material covering 1869 - 2005

Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Criminal Justice Abstracts (with full text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by Ebsco, this resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. There are more than 300,000 records and full text comes from 200 magazines and journals, as well full-text books & monographs.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and test
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Education Research Complete you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Education Research Complete licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering:
• HR, Learning & Organization Studies
• Business, Management & Strategy
• Marketing
• Accounting, Finance & Economics
• Operations Logistics & Quality
• Engineering
• Education
• Public Policy & Environmental Management
• Health & Social Care
• Information and Knowledge Management
• Library Sciences
• Property Management and Built Environment
• Tourism and Hospitality

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Ingenta This link opens in a new window
Ingenta is a multidisciplinary database which offers access to article summaries from over 28,000 publications. Fulltext access is available to subscribers of particular publications although for a definitive view please follow the Electronic Journals page. Non-subscribers can, for the majority of articles, pay-per-view choosing from electronic, fax or ariel delivery. Please see also Zetoc (Electronic Table of Contents from the British Library) available at http://zetoc.mimas.ac.uk/
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of many of the core research journals in the fields primarily of humanities and social sciences.
Current journal issues are not included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access JSTOR you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the JSTOR licence can be found below.

USER RULES - JSTOR'S TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

By using the JSTOR Archive you agree to abide by the following Terms and Conditions:

1. JSTOR hereby grants you a nonexclusive, limited license to use the articles and other materials in the JSTOR archive (the "Content") in accordance with these Terms and Conditions (the "License"). You may not sublicense, assign or transfer the License, and any attempt at such sublicense, assignment or transfer is void. JSTOR has obtained the right to provide the Content from the publishers of the journals contained in the archive, and copyright therein is retained by the publishers.

2. The Content is intended for the personal, non-commercial use of Authorised Users of the JSTOR archive. For information on Authorised Users and Permitted Uses contact your library or organization. Unless prior written permission has been obtained from JSTOR and the publisher of such Content, You may not download from the JSTOR archive an entire issue of a journal, significant portions of the entire run of a journal, or a significant number of sequential articles. In order to obtain an entire issue of a journal please contact the journal publisher. In addition, you may not (i) attempt to override, circumvent, or disable any encryption features or software protections employed in the JSTOR Platform; (ii) undertake any activity such as the use of computer programs that automatically download or export Content or otherwise burden the JSTOR server(s) or any third-party server(s) being used or accessed in connection with the JSTOR Platform; or (iii) undertake coordinated or systematic activity between or among two or more individuals and/or entities that, in the aggregate, constitutes downloading and/or distributing a significant portion of the Content. The restrictions on use of Content as set forth in this License shall survive any termination of the License.

3. Additional restrictions, or fewer restrictions, may apply to your use of certain Content. Copyright is not claimed as to any work of the United States government.

4. You must maintain all copyright and other notices contained in any Content in the course of any use of such Content.

5. The JSTOR Platform and any trademarks, issued patents and patent applications, copyrights and copyright registrations and applications, rights in ideas, designs, works of authorship, derivative works, and all other intellectual property rights relating to the JSTOR Platform and its participating libraries, universities, publishers, scholarly societies, and journals are proprietary to JSTOR or, as applicable, the aforementioned entities, subject to the rights of third parties pursuant to United States copyright laws, international conventions, and other laws. Other than as permitted above with respect to Content, you may not reproduce, publish, distribute, transmit, participate in the transfer or sale of, modify, create derivative works from, display, or in any way exploit, the JSTOR archive in whole or in part. You have no rights to the proprietary software and related documentation provided to you to access the JSTOR archive ("Access Software"). You may not copy, distribute, modify, reverse engineer, or create derivative works from Access Software.

6. JSTOR© and the JSTOR logo are trademarks of JSTOR. Your use of the JSTOR archive implies no right in these trademarks.

7. The JSTOR archive may contain links to or may be accessible from links within related or unrelated World Wide Web sites and resources. JSTOR is not responsible for the availability or contents of these outside resources. You should direct any concerns regarding any such link to its site administrator.

8. THE JSTOR PLATFORM, CONTENT, AND ACCESS SOFTWARE ARE PROVIDED ON AN "AS IS" BASIS, AND JSTOR AND ANY AND ALL THIRD PARTY CONTENT AND SOFTWARE PROVIDERS AND/OR LICENSORS (“CONTENT PROVIDERS”) DISCLAIM ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, CONDITIONS, OR REPRESENTATIONS OF ANY KIND, EITHER EXPRESS, IMPLIED, ORAL, OR WRITTEN, RELATING TO JSTOR, CONTENT, ACCESS SOFTWARE, OR ANY PARTS THEREOF, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY AND ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF QUALITY, PERFORMANCE, NON-INFRINGEMENT, COMPATIBILITY, MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS MAKE NO WARRANTIES RESPECTING ANY HARM THAT MAY BE CAUSED BY THE TRANSMISSION OF A COMPUTER VIRUS, WORM, TIME BOMB, LOGIC BOMB OR OTHER SUCH COMPUTER PROGRAM, EXCEPT THAT JSTOR WILL EXERCISE A REASONABLE LEVEL OF CARE TO PREVENT SUCH OCCURRENCES. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS FURTHER DISCLAIM ANY LIABILITY AND MAKE NO WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO THE CONTENT, INFORMATION, MATERIALS OR OTHER SERVICES INCLUDED IN OR OTHERWISE MADE AVAILABLE BY OR THROUGH JSTOR. YOU HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT USE OF THE JSTOR ARCHIVE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK.

9. You may not authorize use of the JSTOR archive by anyone who is not an Authorised User. You may not set up a proxy or anonymous e-mailer for purposes of allowing access to JSTOR.

10. You shall notify JSTOR of any known or suspected unauthorised use(s) of your account, if applicable, or any known or suspected breach of security, including loss, theft, or unauthorised disclosure or use of your password or IP address. You are responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your password, if applicable, and for all usage or activity on your account, including use of the account by anyone authorised by you to use your password. Any use of the JSTOR archive beyond the scope of the License, knowing use of the password of another, or any fraudulent, abusive, or otherwise illegal activity, may be grounds for termination of your account, or termination of access to JSTOR from your IP address, without notice and at JSTOR's sole discretion. The foregoing includes but is not limited to activity that may burden JSTOR's server(s) such as computer programs that automatically download Content, commonly known as web robots, spiders, crawlers, wanderers or accelerators.

11. In the event of violation of these User Rules by You, (a) JSTOR may suspend or terminate, or, where practicable, request that your Institution suspend or terminate, Your access to the Licensed Content; (b) JSTOR may suspend or terminate the access of the Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) or other authorization and authentication mechanisms from which such unauthorized use occurred; and/or (c) JSTOR may request your Institution to consider the imposition of further reasonable restrictions on access to, and downloading and printing from, the JSTOR Platform.

12. Where You are able to submit material and/or post comments on the JSTOR Platform, You represent and warrant that You will not upload or otherwise publish through JSTOR any materials that: (a) are protected by copyright, or other proprietary or intellectual property rights; (b) are libelous, defamatory, obscene, pornographic, abusive, or invasive of another’s privacy or hateful; or (c) contain a virus, spyware, or other harmful component, advertising of any kind, or false or misleading indications of origin or statements of fact. You acknowledge and agree that any material that You submit or comments that You post may be edited, removed, modified, and/or published by JSTOR without notice.
13. Use of JSTOR indicates acceptance of JSTOR’s Privacy Policy, available http://about.jstor.org/privacy as it may be amended from time to time. ITHAKA does not knowingly collect personally identifiable information from anyone under the age of 16. If it is discovered that we have collected PII from someone under 16 we promptly will delete that information.

14. This Licence shall be interpreted and construed according to, and governed by, United States Federal law excluding any such laws or conventions that might direct the application of the laws of another jurisdiction, and venue will lie exclusively in the federal and state courts of the United States, excluding any such laws to the contrary.

15. JSTOR may change these Terms and Conditions, or any aspect of the JSTOR archive, at any time.

16. If any provision or provisions of this Licence shall be held to be invalid, illegal, unenforceable, or in conflict with the law of any jurisdiction, the validity, legality, and enforceability of the remaining provisions shall not be in any way affected or impaired thereby.
Lexis Plus (formerly LexisLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Lexis Plus (Lexis+) is a legal database containing UK, EU and international case law, legislation, legal journals, commentary texts, current awareness, and news. The database provides access to full text online legal and news information services and contains a range of practitioner texts including Butterworths Company Law Handbook and Butterworths Family Law Service as well as All England Law Reports, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, and Halsbury's Laws. A full-text collection of several UK broadsheet, tabloid and local newspapers is also included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Lexis Library you must be either:
- A UK-based Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A UK-based member of Teesside University Faculty or Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
The licence for Lexis Nexis includes the following terms:
- The material available on Lexis Library is only for educational purposes directly linked to academic coursework
- You may only print one single hard copy of up to ten documents
- You may only download one single copy of up to ten documents
A copy of the full terms of the Lexis Library licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
Overton This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overton is the world’s largest searchable policy database. It includes access to over 5 million policy documents and guidelines from over 29,000 organisations in over 185 countries. The database extracts key terms and topics; it also maps citations to show the pathways to impact in policy.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
It is possible to create an account to enable searches, bookmarks and alerts to be saved.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Oxford Dictionary of National Biography you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest Archives you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Proquest Archives licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
This is a database which searches for cases, legislation and journals both for the UK and EU. Searches can be carried out for journal articles using the Legal Journals Index or UK Journals which gives some full text articles.

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Westlaw UK you must be either:
- A UK-based Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A UK-based member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Westlaw UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)