LibGuides: Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Essential resources

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Learning Hub

You can contact the Learning Hub via email:

learninghub@tees.ac.uk

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Essential resources

Searching for information

The following resources are considered the most useful for your course.

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the main source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It covers 4,600 journals from 1950 to the present.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
PsycINFO
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, technical reports and dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, physiology and sociology. Over 55,000 references are added annually.
Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/systematicsearching/
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

Writing

This is the general guidance from the School of Health & Life Sciences (SHLS) for the presentation of assessed written work.

Please also check the assessment criteria for any specific guidance for the academic work.

SHLS: Student guidance for the presentation of assessed written work (2025)

Being critical

It is important with all information, to think critically about the quality of the information. See the Critical Thinking guide for more support with this.

Critical appraisal uses a structured approach to examine how the research has been conducted. You can use a framework to evaluate and critique the research methods used, looking at areas such as the methodology, to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the study and potential biases.

The Critical appraisal guide provides basic level support for appraising qualitative and quantitative research papers. The guide includes frameworks to appraise research.

Statistics

Statistics are not usually found in the databases and can include information on:

Population level: total growth, migration, birth, gender, age, ethnicity
Society: housing quality, environment, employment, educational attainment, benefit uptake, vulnerable groups, crime and disorder and community cohesion
Lifestyle determinants of health: exercise, smoking, diet, alcohol, drug abuse
Epidemiology: morbidity, mortality, life expectancy, long-term conditions, disease prevalence, immunisation and screening uptake rates

Some general websites, where you can access statistics, are included below. There are also links in the separate tabs, to sites which may provide statistics on health topics and in the local community.

Websites of official associations, such as these listed below, may provide definitions and statistics.

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.