LibGuides: Chemical Engineering: Essential resources

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Essential Reources

Searching for information

The following resources are considered the most useful for your course.

Scopus
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/systematicsearching/

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
SciFinder

SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides unlimited access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

SciFinder offers a one-stop shop experience with flexible search and discover options based on user input and workflow. You can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
SciFinder is for educational use only.
Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited.
To use SciFinder you will first need to create an account - see below for information

By registering for a SciFinder Account, you agree to the following terms:
1) I am a current faculty, staff member, or officially registered student of Teesside University
2) I will use SciFinder ONLY for my own academic research
3) I will NOT use SciFinder for commercial research or for research that involves patentability searching
4) I will not share my unique username and password with any other individual
5) I may store no more than 5,000 records in electronic format at any one time
6) Violations of these terms may result in Teesside University losing SciFinder access
- Register for a SciFInder account
You will need to register with your name and contact information. The email address you provide must be your Teesside University email address.
You will be prompted to create your own username and password for SciFinder. An email will then be sent to your Teesside University email address with a confirmation link that you must click within 48 hours in order to confirm your registration. Please note that you must be on campus when you set up and verify your account.

I have already registered with SciFinder
If you have already set up your SciFinder account please follow the link below to log in.
You will first be prompted for your Teesside University username and password, followed by your SciFInder username and password.
- Connect to SciFinder
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Users may:
1. Use the product solely in the ordinary course of Academic Research;
2. Store search results in electronic form, provided that at any one time, no more than 5,000 records are stored by each User
3. Search only for themselves;
4. Share their search results in a reasonable, limited way with you Users working on the same or related research projects; provided, however, such sharing may not result in: an aggregation of the electronic records stored by individual Users, or the creation of any central source of electronic records.
Stored records must be deleted when they are no longer needed by the Users for the relevant research project, or, if a student, after the completion of your degree programme, whichever occurs first.
A copy of the full terms of the SciFinder licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Other useful resources

General engineering resources

We have provided links to some key resources for your course below.

For a more comprehensive list of resources for life sciences, click on the link below.

Comprehensive list of resources for engineering

ScienceDirect
An extremely popular comprehensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Scopus
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/systematicsearching/

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)