LibGuides: Computer Games and Animation: Essential resources

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library provides access to the full-text of articles from journals and conference proceedings published by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery). This includes the SIGGRAPH series.
To access ACM Digital Library off campus select ‘Sign in’ followed by ‘Institutional Login’ and search for ‘Teesside University’, please enter your University email address and password.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ACM Digital Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the ACM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
IEEE Xplore
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Search over 3 million full-text documents
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access IEEE Xplore you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the IEEE Xplore licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
GDC Vault

GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access GDC Vault go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access GDC Vault you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
GDC Vault Terms and Conditions
GDC Vault Privacy Policy
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education includes books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Gnomon Workshop

With over 300 titles, The Gnomon Workshop library covers a myriad of subjects and techniques. Choose from lessons in design, drawing, painting, modeling, texturing, rigging, effects, and animation to create your desired path and learn at a pace that suits you. The Gnomon Workshop aims to supplement and guide artists’ journeys.
Accessing Gnomon Workshop
You do not need to log in to access Gnomon Workshop if you are on campus.
To log in off campus you will need to use your University email address and password to get access to the site but no further login is required.

Can I access this resource?
To access Gnomon Workshop you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Gnomon Workshop can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter)

a-n The Artist Information Company is widely acknowledged to be a key UK agency for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice. a-n offers an online package of essential visual arts publications, toolkits, the a-n magazine and many other resources of use to students of art and design; fine art; visual arts; design management textile design and public art.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art, Design & Architecture Collection
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from journals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected journals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed journals. Coverage begins 1984; full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Stash

Online video library of animation, VFX and motion design

To search Stash
•Click on 'Library' followed by 'Login'
Bloomsbury Visual Arts
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Rhino House

Rhino House provides video references to animators and artists. It covers the way in which creatures interact, behave, and move about, including the colours, textures, and shapes that make each species so unique.
It should inspire artists to produce extraordinary artwork... to create their own stage, characters, and story.
For information on how to access Rhino House go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access Rhino House you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Rhino House licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Other useful resources

General computing resources

We have provided links to some key resources for your course below.

For a more comprehensive list of resources for life sciences, click on the link below.

Scopus
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/systematicsearching/

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
PressReader

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
To record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search the archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts
Channel list
Features:
- BoB users can explore over 160,000 publicly available playlists made by other users. Just click the ‘playlist’ option in the search panel and input your keywords.
- You can search for playlists by title or by contents, and you can limit searching to your institution or widen it up to the entire community of BoB users. To search for content, click on the ‘search’ button at the top of the page. You can search for individual programmes by entering your keywords and clicking the search icon. You can also use the tick box filters under ‘search options’ to adjust your search to precise specifications.
- You can also use ‘AND’, ‘OR’, and ‘NOT’ search language to find the content you need. For example, if you need to find a film or TV adaption of the novel Frankenstein, you can search for: ‘Frankenstein’ AND ‘adaption’.
- You can paste BoB programme links directly into your presentation. Check out this short video guide on the best way to do this
- My BoB is your personal workspace. Everything you record is automatically sent there and it’s where you will find your clips and playlists. You can make 20 recordings a day and unlimited clips
Video tutorials available
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)