LibGuides: Dietetics: Journal Articles & Databases

Searching for quality information: using Discovery and the online databases

Finding Quality Information Videos

Finding Quality Information Part 1_Searching Discovery

Part 1 of this video series looks at how to search for quality information using Discovery.

It covers the basics of searching and using Discovery to create a basic and advanced search.

Please note: although the examples used in this video are based on Public Health topics, the advice given and the searching technique can be applied to any health discipline.

Video Presentation - Part 1:

The slides which are used during this video presentation are below.

Searching for Information - Part 1 (Slides)

Finding Quality Information Part 2_Searching the Online Databases

Part 2 of this video series looks at searching for quality information in the subject databases.

It covers advanced and structured searching in the online health databases.

If you haven’t already done so, you might also find it useful to watch part 1 which looks at the basics of searching and using Discovery.

Please note: although the examples used in this video are based on Public Health topics, the advice given and the searching technique can be applied to any health discipline.

Video Presentation - Part 2:

The slides which are used during this video presentation are below.

Searching for Information - Part 2 (Slides)

How to find journal articles

Do you want to find journal articles on a topic or look for a specific article?

Use Discovery - input your topic or the details of a journal article to search across most of the Library's resources

Discovery

If you have a journal title use Journal Finder to check if the Library has access to full text.

Journal Finder

What are journals?

They are: Journals

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Click on the link below to access a list of e-journal titles. Then click on the titles to view the Library's holdings. To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles for BioSciences include:


Biology Today	BioSpectrum

Using databases for your subject

Dietetics databases

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the title for a description and the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your Health and Social Care information team. Details on the Home page.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.

Further Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Embase tab
Can I access this resource?
To access Embase you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Embase licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the main source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It covers 4,600 journals from 1950 to the present.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Scopus tab

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering:
• HR, Learning & Organization Studies
• Business, Management & Strategy
• Marketing
• Accounting, Finance & Economics
• Operations Logistics & Quality
• Engineering
• Education
• Public Policy & Environmental Management
• Health & Social Care
• Information and Knowledge Management
• Library Sciences
• Property Management and Built Environment
• Tourism and Hospitality

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Mintel GNPD - Food and Drink This link opens in a new window
To search GNPD click on 'Products' underneath the Analytics option.
GNPD is ideal for those researching the food and drink market, looking at product development, ingredients and packaging etc. It covers 62 of the world’s leading economies, and is updated with more than 30,000 new launches every month. Users can also access analysis of the latest trends and product innovations.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel GNPD - Food & Drink you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Mintel GNPD - Food & Drink licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
Made from real scan data and verified by experts, Anatomy TV brings essential accuracy to anatomy and physiology teaching in an interactive format.

To access Anatomy TV
Select Log in with 'UK Shibboleth'
Search for 'Teesside University'
Enter your University email address and password at the login page
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to British Standards. Teesside University students do not have to pay for standards that are part of our subscription.
Please read this Important Copyright Information before using British Standards Online.
If a standard is downloaded on a University PC it will be saved to the C drive of that PC. Please move or save this to your homespace or USB for future use and/or print. To download a standard on your own device you will need the FileOpen plug-in installed.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access British Standards Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP Student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
The licence for British Standards Online includes the following terms:
- The material available on British Standards Online is for educational use only
- You may only print one hard copy of any document
- You may only make one electronic copy of any document and this may not be copied or circulated electronically
- Copied extracts must be deleted on expiry of the subscription
The full British Standards Online licence can be found by following the link below
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ulitmate is a business database, providing bibliographic and full text content for many academic business journals back to 1886 . Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.

Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to the following collections:
Premier Journals Collection portfolio of 1,101 titles
SAGE IMechE portfolio of 18 titles
SAGE RSM portfolio of 28 titles
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Premier licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Support with finding information for your assignments

We can support you with:

Searching for books and journals using Discovery
Using the online subject specific databases

You can request a tutorial with a Health Librarian via: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/tutorials/health

Please note:

1. Tutorials can be booked 2 weeks in advance.

2. The tutorials are for 1 hour.

3. Tutorials are offered via Microsoft Teams and via face to face appointments at Middlesbrough campus (please check the directions section to see if face-to-face is available for your chosen time).

4. At busy times of year the appointments may get booked up very quickly so may not always be available. Keep an eye on the online booking page: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/tutorials/health - you will see if there are any cancellations, and when more appointments are added. The appointments are only visible 2 weeks ahead, so each weekday more may get released (depending on availability).

Please note:

For help with academic writing and skills see the Learning and Development team: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/tutorials/literature

For referencing support see: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/tutorials/referencing

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Finding Journals

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Doing a Literature Search

Developing Keywords

FAQs

Is there any support available for using CINAHL?
CINAHL is The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It is one of the most popular databases for finding journal articles on health related topics used by the School of Health and Social Care. It includes journals from 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. This guide will show you how to search CINAHL in a structured way.

Support for Searching the Literature for Evidence Based Practice

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in searching the literature for evidence based practice

How to evaluate an article

"How do I know if the information I have found is relevant and/or appropriate?"

Basic evaluation takes into consideration an article's:

Relevance
Authority
Currency

Examine the article and consider the following points:

Is the journal the article appears in of significant academic standing for this level? Where did you find the article? (Database, references etc.)
Who wrote the paper and what is their expertise. Are the authors experts in the field (Academics, industry professional) and have they written other published articles?
Is the article current, does the date of the article matter for this subject area?

Evaluation Checklist