LibGuides: Fine Art: eResources for Research

eResources for art research

Add academic value to your assignments by searching the following resources to locate research and other useful material on artists, modelling, character design, storytelling, iconography, art history, pre and post-production, developing style, game environments and significance. Research articles and conference papers can give weight to your arguments whether you agree or disagree with the point of view of the author.

Most will provide an abstract for the article to summarise what it is about - read this to see if you want to access the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If the full text is not available, then click on the Find It @ Tees button as this will check for access elsewhere.

Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

Need help searching - contact your Art & Creative Industries Librarians. Details on the Home page

Please note that all resources are provided for educational use only.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Bibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABM provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Art Bibliographies Modern can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is an online database that indexes articles from art journals published throughout the world.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art and Architecture Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art and Architecture Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Can I access this resource?
To access the Art and Architecture Archive, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for the Art and Architecture Archive can be found below

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive collection of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Go-to resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search and explore the peer-reviewed journal articles published under Taylor & Francis and Routledge.
Can I access this resource?
To access Taylor and Francis Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Taylor and Francis Journals Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to Z)
an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter) This link opens in a new window
a-n magazine is a key source for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice.
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

To get the best experience from this Sway use the full-screen version.

Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

Aesthetica - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).
Art in America - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).
Elephant - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles for Fine Art and Photography include:


International Artist	London Magazine	Art Press

Digital Camera World	Practical Photography	Digital Photographer

October
At the forefront of art criticism and theory, October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts—film, painting, music, media, photography, performance, sculpture, and literature.

On-Curating Journal (Online)
The OnCurating journal is independent with focus on curating both on the web and in print. The publications are openly accessible on the website. It collaborates with different partner institutions.
e-flux Journal
e-flux’s announcements deliver the latest press releases of key art exhibitions relevant to an international public. Its online archive reaches back two decades, forming a unique art historical resource on global contemporary art exhibitions, curatorial concepts, and artistic ideas.

Newspapers can be really useful primary sources for both up-to-date and historical research. They reflect the time period, the society and the culture in which they were published.

NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PressReader This link opens in a new window
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles for Fine Art and Photography include:

Practical Photography

Digital Photographer

Journal articles

To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

October
At the forefront of art criticism and theory, October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts—film, painting, music, media, photography, performance, sculpture, and literature.

Aesthetica - the full content of this journal is now available online (Click on the cover image or title link).

Art in America - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).

Elephant - the full content of this journal is available online (Click on the cover image or title link).

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles for Fine Art and Photography include:


International Artist	London Magazine	Art Press

Digital Camera World	Practical Photography	Digital Photographer

What are journals?

They are: Journals

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Finding Journals

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Doing a Literature Search

Developing Keywords