LibGuides: Music Production: Books to inform, inspire and justify

Search for Books

Discovery Search
Catalogue Search

Discovery

Use this quick search to discover books within our entire collection, both print and electronic.

Finding books on the shelves

Each book is given a shelf number, consisting of numbers and letters, which has been determined by a classification scheme called Dewey.

All books on the same topic are at the same number so you can browse them when at the shelves.

Important shelf number areas in Music Production

621.3893	Sound recording and reproducing
780.285	Digital music
780.42	Popular music
781.34	Composing computer music (theory)
786.76	Using computers to create music (eg. sampling)

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Ebooks are electronic versions of books.

The library subscribes to a number of ebook collections, of which the most useful for Music Production are:

O'Reilly for Higher Education
You can find relevant titles for Music Technology within the following topic areas: Music & Audio, Film & Video, Television Production, and Podcasts.
,
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBook Central is a collection of over 100,000 books and other authoritative content to which we have full-text access. It covers multiple subject areas.
Please note that to download ebooks from Ebook Central you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your PC. If you want to access your downloaded content on multiple PCs or devices you will need to register for an Adobe ID - further guidance on this can be found on the EBook Central Help Site
If you are on campus, Digital Editions can be found in AppsAnywhere. You will need to open this software before attempting to download the book.
Can I access this resource?
To access E-Book Central you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the E-Book Central licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
The library provides some e-book content via the VLeBooks platform.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access VLeBooks you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.

For more help and advice on using e-books go to:

E-books@Tees

MORE BOOKS: SEND US YOUR RECOMMENDATIONS

More Books enables you to suggest a new book purchase.

We know from your feedback that sometimes you can’t get hold of the books you need.

Let us know if there are any titles that you would like us to add to the Library stock and we will consider your request.

Simply complete the short online form and don’t forget to include your Teesside University email address so that we can respond to you.

Open access resources for Music Technology

BCcampus Open Textbooks
Directory of Open Access Books
A searchable directory of over 1600 openly accessible academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers
LibreTexts
LibreTexts is an Open Textbook Project initiated at the University of California. Coverage includes sciences, social science, engineering, business, humanities, and more. To find the books, go to Explore the libraries, then choose the subject you are interested in and then click on bookshelves.
MERLOT Open Educational Resources
Open Research Library

Music Production