LibGuides: Music Production: Essential resources

Essential

The following resources are considered the most useful to use for your course:

Art Full text contains subject relevant academic journals, magazines and books.

Art Full Text
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)

ACM Digital Library provides access to the full-text of articles from journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery

ACM Digital Library
Can I access this resource?
To access ACM Digital Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the ACM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Where else to search

IEEE Xplore
Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), including electrical engineering and computer science.
Can I access this resource?
To access IEEE Xplore you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the IEEE Xplore licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
Scopus
Scopus is the world’s largest research database covering over 20,000 journal titles.
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Go to a more comprehensive list of resources for Creative Industries

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines. Relevant titles for Music Production include:

(US version)

Mintel Oxygen
Market research reports providing information on market size and trends.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Business Source Ultimate
In addition to journal articles, Business Source Complete also provides access to industry profiles and market research reports.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
FAME
FAME provides access to company data including: company accounts, contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Emerald Premier
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering on topics such as marketing.
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Search Discovery

Find books, ebooks, articles, video and more

Searching Discovery

Discovery is a useful resource to use to get started with searching for literature. It searches the wealth of our library collections and many of our academic databases simultaneously. Below is a link to the Discovery search, as well as two short video guides that demo how to search it more effectively ...

Basic search video guide

Advanced search video guide

Journals

Journals - what and why?

What are journals?

They are: An image of several journal titles

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by multiple authors.

Why should I use them?

using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
quality research - academic rigour - peer reviewed.