LibGuides: Nursing: Finding Journal Articles

Searching for Quality Information: using Discovery and the online databases

Finding Quality Information Videos

Finding Quality Information Part 1_Searching Discovery

Part 1 of this video series looks at how to search for quality information using Discovery.

It covers the basics of searching and using Discovery to create a basic and advanced search. The advice given and the searching techniques can be applied to any health topic/discipline.

Video Presentation - Part 1:

The slides which are used during this video presentation are below.

Searching for Information - Part 1 (Slides)

Finding Quality Information Part 2_Searching the Online Databases

Part 2 of this video series looks at searching for quality information in the subject databases. It covers advanced and structured searching in the online health databases. The advice given and the searching techniques can be applied to any health topic/discipline.

If you haven’t already done so, you might also find it useful to watch part 1 which looks at the basics of searching and using Discovery.

Please note: The library homepage has been updated since this video was recorded and the skills guides mentioned in the video can now be found here: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/learninghub?b=s&group_id=6925

Video Presentation - Part 2:

The slides which are used during this video presentation are below.

Searching for Information - Part 2 (Slides)

Journal Articles

What are journals?

They are:

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What does peer reviewed mean?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Databases for your subject

Using databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health librarians. Details on the Home page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the main source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It covers 4,600 journals from 1950 to the present.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
AMED (Allied and Complementary MEDicine) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The AMED (Allied and Complementary MEDicine) database covers relevant references to articles from 400 journals, which are mainly European and in English, in the fields of complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation and podiatry since 1985 and palliative care since 1997.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access AMED you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the AMED licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Nursing Journals is a searchable database that offers complete full text articles from over 400 leading nursing and related publications. This database is designed to meet the needs of students and researchers in nursing programs at academic institutions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Health Research Premium Collection you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Health Research Premium Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
RCNi Journals (Royal College of Nursing) This link opens in a new window
RCNi produces 11 journals for nurses, to provide health professionals with the latest developments impacting nursing, including changes in policy, practice and research
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access RCN Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the RCN Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Cochrane Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation;
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Other databases include: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - abstracts of other systematic reviews; NHS Economic Evaluation Database (register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions); Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (bibliography of clinical trials); Cochrane Review of Methodology Register (bibliography of research synthesis).

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab
Cochrane Library for students based overseas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
It also includes: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - abstracts of other systematic reviews; NHS Economic Evaluation Database (register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions); Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (bibliography of clinical trials); Cochrane Review of Methodology Register (bibliography of research synthesis).
Internurse.com This link opens in a new window
A current awareness service that gives access to eight peer reviewed online nursing journals.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I aceess this resource?
To access Internurse you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Internurse licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.

Further Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Embase tab
Can I access this resource?
To access Embase you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Embase licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, technical reports and dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, physiology and sociology. Over 55,000 references are added annually.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Scopus tab

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
Made from real scan data and verified by experts, Anatomy TV brings essential accuracy to anatomy and physiology teaching in an interactive format.

To access Anatomy TV
Select Log in with 'UK Shibboleth'
Search for 'Teesside University'
Enter your University email address and password at the login page

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

Evidence Based Practice

Evidence Based Practice is about using the best available evidence on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions as a basis for professional decision making in practice. The evidence from the research should be used in conjunction with clinician expertise and patient choice. For information and resources for Evidence Based Practice, see the Evidence Based Practice LibGuide.

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Finding Journals

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Doing a Literature Search

Developing Keywords

FAQs

Is there any support available for using CINAHL?
CINAHL is The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It is one of the most popular databases for finding journal articles on health related topics used by the School of Health and Social Care. It includes journals from 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. This guide will show you how to search CINAHL in a structured way.

Support for Searching the Literature for Evidence Based Practice

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in searching the literature for evidence based practice

Need to Search Grey Literature

Grey literature is material which is not usually published through normal channels. Examples of grey literature include: government reports, theses, conference papers and abstracts, discussion papers, newsletters, PowerPoint presentations, best practice documents, guidelines and protocols.

The helpsheet below details the best sources to use to find grey literature in health.

Library Helpsheet - Grey literature: Health
Library Helpsheets

The UK Health Security Agency have also compiled an index of grey literature and the link to this is below.

UK Health Security Agency: Grey literature: index and alternative sources and resources

Inter Library Loans

Have you found a useful resource that we do not have access to? The Inter Library Loan (ILL) service gives staff and students of Teesside University access to material not currently held by the Library. See the Inter Library Loan Guide for more information.

Inter Library Loan Guide