Use Discovery - input your topic or the details of a journal article to search across most of the Library's resources
If you know the name of a Journal, enter the title here to check if it's available in the Library
To link through to a complete list of e-journals: A-Z list
Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journal articles, in specific subject areas.
The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.
For help searching the databases contact your Health & Social Care information team. Details on the Home page
Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only
Evidence Based Practice is about using the best available evidence on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions as a basis for professional decision making in practice. The evidence from the research should be used in conjunction with clinician expertise and patient choice. For information and resources for Evidence Based Practice, see the Evidence Based Practice LibGuide.
We offer a tutorial service to help with searching the specialist databases on your topic.
To request a tutorial with a Health Librarian please click on the booking button below:
1. Tutorials can be booked 2 weeks in advance.
2. The tutorials are for 1 hour.
3. Tutorials are offered via Microsoft Teams and face to face on campus (please check the directions section to see if face-to-face is available for your chosen time).
4. At busy times of year the appointments may get booked up very quickly so may not always be available. Keep an eye on the online booking page: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/tutorials/health - you will see if there are any cancellations, and when more appointments are added. The appointments are only visible 2 weeks ahead, so each weekday more may get released (depending on availability).
For help with academic writing and skills see the Learning and Development team: https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/tutorials/literature
The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:
Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.
The following guides will help you to develop your skills in searching the literature for evidence based practice
Grey literature is material which is not usually published through normal channels. Examples of grey literature include: government reports, theses, conference papers and abstracts, discussion papers, newsletters, PowerPoint presentations, best practice documents, guidelines and protocols.
The helpsheet below details the best sources to use to find grey literature in the area of health and social care.
Public Health England have also compiled an index of grey literature and the link to this is below.
Have you found a useful resource that we do not have access to? Undergraduate students doing their final assessment projects/dissertations, postgraduate students and staff are eligible for inter library loans. See the Inter Library Loan LibGuide for more information.
Google Scholar (available at http://scholar.google.co.uk/) allows you to search the internet for scholarly articles and books. You can customise Google Scholar so that the button appears alongside the results in order to search for full text in our electronic resources.
To add the button to your Google Scholar search, click on the image with the three lines at the top left hand side of the screen: . Then click on Settings and choose Library links from the left hand menu. Enter Teesside University in the search box. Tick the box next to Teesside University - Find it @ Tees and then click on Save.
Now whenever you perform a search in Google Scholar, the button will be displayed next to the results. It will help you to connect to the full text of the resource if Teesside University Library has a subscription to it (either electronically or in print).