Quantitative data collection and analysis

Clear, comprehensive, and trusted, Bryman's Social Research Methods has supported over a quarter of a million students through their research methods course and research project. Spanning theory and practice and covering quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods, this bestselling text offers unrivalled coverage of the whole research process. The authors have worked closely with lecturers and students in thoroughly updating the sixth edition to reflect the current social science landscape, and carefully streamlining content to make it relevant and appealing to today's students. As a result, the text's comprehensive coverage - which includes many new examples and additional material on areas such as social media research and big data - is now even clearer, more focused, and easier to navigate. In addition to many new examples of published research, this edition features the insights of a panel of recent graduates from their experiences of researching a variety of fascinating topics, including attitudes towards the LGBT+ community on social media, the experiences of Pakistani Muslim single mothers, and the impact of screen time on sleep. 'Learn from experience' boxes in every chapter contain their candid reflections on the successes and challenges of their projects, and their advice for student researchers. Digital formats and resources Bryman's Social Research Methods is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by extensive online resources. The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access, with learning resources embedded and hyperlinked throughout to offer self-assessment activities and extra support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks The student resources, accessible both online and via the e-book, include: - Over 300 multiple choice questions - A 'Research process in practice' simulation - Student researcher's toolkit - Answers to the end-of-chapter questions, including audio commentary from the authors - A flashcard glossary - Data analysis software tutorials covering SPSS, Nvivo, R, and Stata - Guidance on using Excel in data analysis - 'Learn from experience' videos, expanding on the graduate insights provided in the book The book's teaching resources, accessible online to adopting lecturers, include: - PowerPoint slides for every chapter - 250 test bank questions - 25 seminar outlines - 75 exam- or coursework-based questions - Figures and tables from the book

In the Second Edition of this bestselling textbook, the authors use real-world examples to introduce basic principles in statistics with no prior knowledge or experience assumed. With an emphasis on describing concepts, showing through example and illustrating points with graphs and displays, this book will provide readers with a step-by-step introduction to using statistics.Chapters address the following questions: Why bother learning statistics in the first place and are they relevant to real life? How do I make sensible tables and informative graphs? What are descriptive and inferential statistics and how are they used? What are regression and correlation anyway?

Written in a clear, readable style with a wide range of explanations and examples, this must-have dictionary reflects recent changes in the fields of statistics and methodology. Packed with new definitions, terms, and graphics, this invaluable resource is an ideal reference for researchers and professionals in the field and provides everything students need to read and understand a research report, including elementary terms, concepts, methodology, and design definitions, as well as concepts from qualitative research methods and terms from theory and philosophy.

′Appreciative users of this volume will be students, faculty, and researchers in academic, special, and large public libraries, for whom it is recommended′ - Library Journal ′The compilers of this impressive, unique work claim it "brings together, in one place, authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, both quantitative and qualitative" - a claim examination supports. More than 400 contributors from the US and abroad present approximately 1,000 comprehensive, in-depth, well-referenced entries that vary in length from 50 to 2,500 words. The attractively designed and produced volumes, 1,351 total pages, consist of easily legible text and figures, the front matter occupying 46 pages and the index 40.... This defining work will be valuable to readers and researchers in social sciences and humanities at all academic levels. As a teaching resource it will be useful to instructors and students alike and will become a standard reference source. Essential for general and academic collections′ - Choice SAGE Reference is proud to announce The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods, a three-volume resource that is a first of its kind, developed by the leading publisher of social science research methods books and journals. This unique multi-volume reference set offers readers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers. Written to be accessible to general readers, entries do not require any advanced knowledge or experience to understand the purposes and basic principles of any of the methods. The Encyclopedia features two major types of entries: definitions, consisting of a paragraph or two, which provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays, discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method. Also included are suggested readings and references for future study. To help provide a more complete explanation than is often achieved within the scope of a single article, key terms and concepts appear in small capital letters to refer readers to related terms explained elsewhere. In addition to epistemological issues that influence the nature of research questions and assumptions, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods tackles topics not normally viewed as part of social science research methodology, from philosophical issues such as poststructuralism to advanced statistical techniques. In covering the full range of qualitative and quantitative data analyses, this key reference offers an integrated approach that allows the reader to choose the most appropriate and robust techniques to apply to each situation. Many entries treat traditional topics in a novel way, stimulating both interest and new perspectives. One example is the entry Econometrics, by Professor Damodar Gujarati. Following a process which many educators preach but seldom practice, Gujarati walks the reader twice through the research process from economic theory to data and models to analysis, once in principle and a second time with an example. In using the ordinary process of economic research to achieve an extraordinary impact, he leaves the reader thinking not only about methods and models but also the fundamental purpose of econometrics. Topics Covered: - Analysis of Variance - Association and Correlation - Basic Qualitative Research - Basic Statistics - Causal Modeling (Structural Equations) - Discourse/Conversation Analysis - Econometrics - Epistemology - Ethnography - Evaluation - Event History Analysis - Experimental Design - Factor Analysis and Related Techniques - Feminist Methodology - Generalized Linear Models - Historical/Comparative - Interviewing in Qualitative Research - Latent Variable Model - Life History/Biography - Loglinear Models (Categorical Dependent Variables) - Longitudinal Analysis - Mathematics and Formal Models - Measurement Level - Measurement Testing and Classification - Multiple Regression - Multilevel Analysis - Qualitative Data Analysis - Sampling in Surveys - Sampling in Qualitative Research - Scaling - Significance Testing - Simple Regression - Survey Design - Time Series Key Features: - Over 900 entries arranged A to Z Each entry is written by a leading authority in the field, covering both quantitative and qualitative methods - Covers all disciplines within the social sciences - Contains both concise definitions and in-depth essays - Three volumes and more than 1500 pages

Online version