LibGuides: Graphic Design, Illustration and Product Design: eResources for Research

eResources for Research

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journal articles, in specific subject areas.

For help searching contact your your Art & Creative Industries Librarians. Details on the Home page

Please note that all resources are provided for educational use only.

an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter) This link opens in a new window
a-n The Artist Information Company is widely acknowledged to be a key UK agency for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice. a-n offers an online package of essential visual arts publications, toolkits, the a-n magazine and many other resources of use to students of art and design.
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
DAAI is the leading source to search for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts. Subject coverage includes graphic design, furniture, interior design, architecture, product design and industrial design.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art and Architecture Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art and Architecture Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is an online database that indexes articles from art journals published throughout the world.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Bibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
ABM provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Art Bibliographies Modern can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
WARC This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes marketing and advertising data.
Can I access this resource?
To access WARC you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic Staff
- A member of Teesside University Library Staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Your access to and use of the Services is restricted and is permitted for the Users’ own educational, research and academic purposes only except that your employees may use a reasonable amount of the Services into course or study packs for your students’ educational purposes. You may not designate any other individuals (including employees and individual contractors of your Affiliates) as Users. You agree not to permit any third-party to access the Services except as expressly authorized in a separate Third-Party Access Agreement provided by us. We will identify and authenticate Users by using IP addresses and/or ranges of IP addresses provided by you. Users may only access the Services via your secured network. You will make reasonable efforts to ensure that Users are aware of the rights and restrictions governing the access and use of the Services as contained in this Contract and that these rights and restriction are complied with. Immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized use or other breach by any User, you will inform us and take all reasonable and appropriate steps, including disciplinary action both to ensure that such activity ceases and to prevent any recurrence.
A copy of the full terms of the WARC licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Can I access this resource?
To access the Art and Architecture Archive, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for the Art and Architecture Archive can be found below

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive collection of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
WGSN - Fashion This link opens in a new window
By predicting the trends of tomorrow, WGSN Fashion helps the world’s largest retailers, brands and manufacturers lead with confidence.
Can I access this resource?
To access WGSN you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the WGSN licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Video demo of how to use WGSN Fashion

This video demo by Roxanne from WGSN will explore how trends are forecast, using the design resources and other aspects of the platform including reports and catwalk collections. The video duration is 34 minutes.

International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
Go-to resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for business & industry research.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier This link opens in a new window
The Emerald library contains full text journals covering on topics such as marketing.
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Mintel Oxygen This link opens in a new window
Market research reports providing information on market size and trends.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
WARC This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes marketing and advertising data.
Can I access this resource?
To access WARC you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic Staff
- A member of Teesside University Library Staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Your access to and use of the Services is restricted and is permitted for the Users’ own educational, research and academic purposes only except that your employees may use a reasonable amount of the Services into course or study packs for your students’ educational purposes. You may not designate any other individuals (including employees and individual contractors of your Affiliates) as Users. You agree not to permit any third-party to access the Services except as expressly authorized in a separate Third-Party Access Agreement provided by us. We will identify and authenticate Users by using IP addresses and/or ranges of IP addresses provided by you. Users may only access the Services via your secured network. You will make reasonable efforts to ensure that Users are aware of the rights and restrictions governing the access and use of the Services as contained in this Contract and that these rights and restriction are complied with. Immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized use or other breach by any User, you will inform us and take all reasonable and appropriate steps, including disciplinary action both to ensure that such activity ceases and to prevent any recurrence.
A copy of the full terms of the WARC licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
Mintel GNPD - Food and Drink This link opens in a new window
To search GNPD click on 'Products' underneath the Analytics option.
GNPD is ideal for those researching the food and drink market, looking at product development, ingredients and packaging etc.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel GNPD - Food & Drink you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Mintel GNPD - Food & Drink licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME provides access to company data including: company accounts, contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Campaign UK This link opens in a new window
Online magazine serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.
Logging in to Campaign
To Gain access, you will need to register with Campaign using your Teesside University email address - personal email addresses will not work.
To register use your Teesside University email address and select a unique password. You will receive a 'Welcome' email meaning your account is set up, and you do not need to complete the 'About You' page for access. If you choose to, enter 'Teesside University', 'Student/Academic' and 'Education' where applicable.
By signing up to this site you will be supplying personal data to Haymarket and should ensure that you are comfortable with their privacy notice (below)
Privacy Notice (This link opens in a new window)

And so : graduate journal of graphic design
Published by the Masters of Graphic Design program at North Carolina State University. The journal highlights scholarship by MGD students and alumni that examines the cultural contexts of design and the influence of end users.
Illustration
Features high quality printing, photography and colour reproductions of original art.
Journal of Design History
JDH is the research-focused journal of the Design History Society. JDH). It embraces the history of a range of design-related subjects, from furniture to product design, graphic design, craft, fashion, textiles, architectural interiors and exhibitions.
Journal of Graphic Engineering and Design
Provides novel research and papers in the field of graphic engineering and design.
Journal of Product and Brand Management
Offers research at the cutting edge of product and brand management and pricing. Offering expert analysis and practical recommendations to aid decision making and stimulate further research activity,
Journal of Product Innovation Management
Dedicated to the advancement of management practice in all of the functions involved in the total process of product innovation.
Product Design and Development
Provides information for design engineers and engineering managers looking to advance the quality and efficiency of their current and future design projects.
Screen Printing
Aimed at all types of screen printers. Features tips, new products, technology updates, and industry news.

NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

British Industrial Design Association
A benchmark of creativity and best-practice for professionals and graduates working in product, interaction and service design.
Core77
Core77 publishes articles, discussion forums, an extensive event calendar, hosts portfolios, job listings, a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services.
Design & Art Direction (D&AD)
D&AD is an educational charity that represents the global creative, design and advertising communities.
Design Council
An independent, not-for-profit organisation incorporated by Royal Charter. It is the national strategic body for design and advises government on design in national policy. Its aim is to promote design and the value of design to the economy.
Design Management Institute
The mission of the society is to be the international authority and advocate on design management
Design Network North
Design Network North was established in 2007 with the aim of 'increasing the contribution that design makes to the economy'.
Design Research Society (DRS)
The Design Research Society (DRS) is a learned society committed to promoting and developing design research.
International Council of Design
International Council of Design (ico-D) is the world body for professional communication design.
Product Development & Management Association
The PDMA mission is to improve the effectiveness of individuals and organisations in product development and management.
The World Design Organization
The World Design Organization advocates industrial design driven innovation that creates a better world.

Sway - Top resources for Graphic Design and Product Design

Journal articles

Journals for Design etc.
What are journals & why should I use them?

Click on the links below to access the e-journal titles. To access some e-journals off campus you may need to use your University email and password.

And so : graduate journal of graphic design
Published by the Masters of Graphic Design program at North Carolina State University. The journal highlights scholarship by MGD students and alumni that examines the cultural contexts of design and the influence of end users.
Illustration
Features high quality printing, photography and colour reproductions of original art.
Journal of Design History
JDH is the research-focused journal of the Design History Society. JDH). It embraces the history of a range of design-related subjects, from furniture to product design, graphic design, craft, fashion, textiles, architectural interiors and exhibitions.
Journal of Graphic Engineering and Design
Provides novel research and papers in the field of graphic engineering and design.
Journal of Product and Brand Management
Offers research at the cutting edge of product and brand management and pricing. Offering expert analysis and practical recommendations to aid decision making and stimulate further research activity,
Journal of Product Innovation Management
Dedicated to the advancement of management practice in all of the functions involved in the total process of product innovation.
Product Design and Development
Provides information for design engineers and engineering managers looking to advance the quality and efficiency of their current and future design projects.
Screen Printing
Aimed at all types of screen printers. Features tips, new products, technology updates, and industry news.

What are journals?

They are: Journals

like magazines but of a scholarly nature.
published at regular intervals.
contain articles on a variety of topics.
the articles are written by different authors.
in printed and electronic formats.

Why Should I use them?

You should use them in your studies because:

journal turnover time is much quicker than for a book.
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format.
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books.
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

You should use them in your studies because:

Written by a professional/expert, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published.
Longer articles, heavily text based.
Charts, tables, statistics and images.
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

How to evaluate an article

"How do I know if the information I have found is relevant and/or appropriate?"

Basic evaluation takes into consideration an article's:

Relevance
Authority
Currency

Examine the article and consider the following points:

Is the journal the article appears in of significant academic standing for this level? Where did you find the article? (Database, references etc.)
Who wrote the paper and what is their expertise. Are the authors experts in the field (Academics, industry professional) and have they written other published articles?
Is the article current, does the date of the article matter for this subject area?

Evaluation Checklist