Skip to main content

Reading Lists Online: guide for academic staff

Tailoring Reading Lists to Promote Online Resources

Books on iPhone

Why online resources are important

Giving prominence to online resources, especially e-books, is more important than ever as students currently do not have access to Teesside University Library's printed books. E-resources have the benefit of being available 24/7 both on and off campus. Your reading lists will need updating to include as many online resources as possible. The advice in this guide will help you .

See what online resources are already on your list 

The first step is to check which of the resources you are directing your students to from your reading list are available electronically. A quick way to see this is to Filter your list, to show only the online resources.

Screenshot of filter menu on Reading Lists Online

Use Discovery to Quickly Add E-Resources

There are lots of e-resources which can be added using the Discovery search:

  • Books
  • Journal articles and conference papers
  • Newspaper and magazine articles

See the instructional videos and written guidance below for step by step instructions on how to add these onto your reading list. 

Discovery Quick Search

Discovery

Adding E-Resources Beyond Discovery

If you can’t find any suitable ebooks on Discovery try these open access resources.  Alternatively contact your Academic Librarian about options for purchasing ebooks for the Library.

BCcampus Open Textbooks

BCcampus Open Textbooks provides access to openly licensed textbooks and other OER materials with a broad discipline focus including; business, education, science and mathematics.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

BookBoon

Bookboon.com is an online publisher of free books. They provide textbooks covering topics from Engineering and IT to Economics and Business. Students will need to sign up to download the free textbooks as a PDF or to read online. 
 
Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.
 

Cambridge University Press - Open access titles

Open access books and journals from Cambridge University Press - Open access titles.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Directory of Open Access Books

The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a central repository for open access textbooks. There is a very broad discipline focus including; business education, science, mathematics, engineering and languages.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Google Books

Google Books provides free access to some electronic book samples and previews. The content which is free to access is subject to change.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

IntechOpen

IntechOpen is one of the world’s largest publishers of free textbooks. There is a wealth of textbook options for computer science, robotics and other STEM subjects, with a collection of over 2,000 published textbooks. 

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Knowledge Unlatched 

Knowledge Unlatched operates a crowd-funding model whereby libraries pay into a fund and Knowledge Unlatched uses these funds to make scholarly books open access and available to all via the Open Research Library. There is a very broad discipline focus including; education, science, mathematics, engineering and languages.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

LibreTexts

LibreTexts is an Open Textbook Project initiated at the University of California. Coverage includes sciences, social science, engineering, business, humanities, and more. To find the books, go to Explore the libraries, then choose the subject you are interested in and then click on bookshelves.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Lyryx Open Textbooks

Lyryx Open Textbooks provides access to electronic textbooks for business, economics, mathematics & statistics.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

MERLOT Open Educational Resources

MERLOT Open Educational Resources is an online repository for learning resources. It provides access to a broad range of multi-discipline Open Educational Resources including case studies, journal articles and textbooks.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

OASIS

OASIS searches across Open Textbook Library, Libretexts, BCcampus, Teaching Commons, GALILEO Open Learning Materials (University System of Georgia).

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

OER Commons

OER Commons is an online repository for learning resources. It provides access to a broad range of multi-discipline Open Educational Resources including case studies and textbooks.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Online Books Page

The Online Books Page provides an index to books which are freely accessible.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Online Mathematics Textbooks

Online Mathematics Textbooks includes resources for mathematics and STEM fields such as engineering, chemistry or computer science.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Open Research Library

The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. 

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

OpenStax

OpenStax publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are freely available online.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library provides free, open-sourced, peer-reviewed textbooks. 

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Project Gutenberg

This collection is based on documents produced by Project Gutenberg. Founded by Michael Hart in 1971 with the aim of distributing a trillion (1,000,000,000) electronic literature files by the year 2001, Project Gutenberg has evolved into an on-going project to produce and distribute free electronic editions of literature. Project Gutenberg eBooks are mostly older literary works. Most were published before 1924.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Saylor Academy

Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative which offers free and open online courses/resources. The site includes a repository of free and easily accessible textbooks and covers a large variety of subjects.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

SpringerOpen (Springer Nature)

SpringerOpen (Springer Nature) offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books. Content is freely available online for everyone and contains a broad range of journal and book content.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

UCL Press Open Access Books

UCL Press Open Access Books gives free access to peer-reviewed scholarly works and innovative research outputs, including open access books.

Instructions on how to bookmark ebooks from this site are below.

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to add useful electronic journal titles from Teesside University, to your reading lists. There are step by step instructions on how to do this available in the PDF below.

Cambridge University Press - Open access titles

Open access books and journals from Cambridge University Press - Open access titles.

Instructions on how to bookmark electronic journals and articles from this site are below.

CORE

CORE provides access to the world’s largest collection of open access research papers.

Instructions on how to bookmark research papers from this site are below.

The Future Science Group 

The Future Science Group have given free access to their journal content until the end of 2020. Coverage includes medicine, biotechnology, and science.

Instructions on how to bookmark online journals from this site are below.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides free access to some academic literature. Please note that not all content in Google Scholar is freely available. However, you can set up a FindIt@Tees link directly from a Google Scholar search.

Instructions on how to bookmark academic literature from this site are below.

MERLOT Open Educational Resources

MERLOT Open Educational Resources is an online repository for learning resources. It provides access to a broad range of multi-discipline Open Educational Resources including case studies, journal articles and textbooks.

Instructions on how to bookmark journal articles from this site are below.

SpringerOpen (Springer Nature)

SpringerOpen (Springer Nature) offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books. Content is freely available online for everyone and contains a broad range of journal and book content.

Instructions on how to bookmark journals and journal articles from this site are below.

Adding an Online Database

The library subscribes to a lot of useful online databases and you might find it useful to bookmark some of these on your reading list. Instructions on how to do this are in the PDF below.  You can see the full range of databses in the A-Z list or you can filter the list to show specific subject resources.

A-Z of databases subject filter

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. There is a series of instructional videos to help using BoB. Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. Students will need to register in order to view any clips you bookmark on your reading lists. 

Instructions on how to bookmark videos from this site are below.

Ted Talks

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).

Instructions on how to bookmark videos from this site are below.

YouTube

YouTube is home to lots of useful videos on a variety of topics.

Some useful education Channels on You Tube include:

Instructions on how to bookmark videos from this site are below.

NewsBank

Database which offers a comprehensive news collection. Most of the content from NewsBank is searchable in Discovery and it easier to bookmark articles that way. However, if you prefer, you can search the database separately and bookmark directly from NewsBank. Content also includes videos and podcasts.

Instructions on how to bookmark from this site are below.

PressReader

PressReader gives access to over 7000 newspapers and magazines.

Instructions on how to bookmark newspapers, magazines and articles from this site are below.

Websites and Webpages

See the document below for step by step instructions on how to bookmark websites on your reading lists

Documents on Irish Foreign Policy

An ongoing project by the Royal Irish Academy, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the National Archives makes volumes I-VIII (spanning 1919-1948) of Documents on Irish foreign policy available on open access.

Instructions on how to bookmark from this site are below.

RefSeek

RefSeek is an academic search engine for students and researchers. It locates relevant academic search results from web pages, books, encyclopedias, and journals.

Instructions on how to bookmark from this site are below.

Example Reading List with Online Resources

Example Online Only List in RLO

Click the image below to see an example of a reading list which only contains online material, utilising the resources listed above.

Screenshot of an online only reading list in RLO

Broken Links

Broken Links

Adding additional e-resources to your list, may bring up the concern of broken links. However, Reading Lists Online have now added a broken links reporting system.

You will need to be logged into RLO to be able to use it.  Once, logged in, just click on the 3 dots, next to the View Online button and select Report Broken Link.

Screenshot of broken link function in RLO
 
You can report the broken link anonymously, or you can click on the link Get notified or add details click here to add your details and get notified when the link has been updated. Click on Report to send the details to the Library.

screenshot to show how to add details to a broken link report

The reports will be picked up by the Library who will investigate.