LibGuides: Trauma-Informed Practice: Finding Journal Articles

Journal Articles

What are journals?

They are:

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What does peer reviewed mean?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

Click on the tabs above to see some subject relevant databases that are relevant for trauma-informed practice.

For help searching the databases contact your Subject librarians. Details on the Welcome page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

British Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection covers educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. The BEI provides coverage of all areas of education from pre-school to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group.

This comprehensive index currently includes more than 310,000 records for articles published in UK journals from 1929 onwards and over 11,650 records for UK thesis. Sources in the BEI include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK along with international literature. An education thesaurus with thousands of terms is also included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCO databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the EBSCO licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and test
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Education Research Complete you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Education Research Complete licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 750,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced materiai
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Teachers TV from Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, technical reports and dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, physiology and sociology. Over 55,000 references are added annually.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)