LibGuides: Teesside University London eLibrary services: Databases for Computer Games and Animation

eResources for computer games and animation research

Add academic value to your assignments by searching the following resources to locate research and other useful material on game design & architecture, game play and levels, mobile and online gaming, game programming and algorithms, rendering & modelling software, storytelling and game environments. Research articles and conference papers can give weight to your arguments whether you agree or disagree with the point of view of the author.

Most will provide an abstract for the article to summarise what it is about - read this to see if you want to access the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If the full text is not available, please click on where you see it as this will check for access elsewhere.

Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search here for you research; you can access full-text papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery. This includes SIGGRAPH (special interest group on Computer GRAPHics and Interactive Techniques).
Can I access this resource?
To access ACM Digital Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the ACM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scientific research and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), including programming and computer modelling.
Can I access this resource?
To access IEEE Xplore you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the IEEE Xplore licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
GDC Vault This link opens in a new window
GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access GDC Vault go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access GDC Vault you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
GDC Vault Terms and Conditions
GDC Vault Privacy Policy
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education includes books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world’s largest research database covering over 20,000 journal titles.
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search and explore the peer-reviewed journal articles published under Taylor & Francis and Routledge.
Can I access this resource?
To access Taylor and Francis Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Taylor and Francis Journals Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to Z)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An extremely popular comprehensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Add academic value to your assignments by searching the following resources to locate research and other useful material on video games, modelling, character design, storytelling, developing your style, game environments and significance. Research articles and conference papers can give weight to your arguments whether you agree or disagree with the point of view of the author.

Most will provide an abstract for the article to summarise what it is about - read this to see if you want to access the full text.
You will get the full text online for most results. If the full text is not available, please click on where you see it as this will check for access elsewhere.

Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only.

an Magazine (also known as Artists Newsletter) This link opens in a new window
a-n The Artist Information Company is widely acknowledged to be a key UK agency for supporting artists and promoting and shaping visual arts practice. a-n offers an online package of essential visual arts publications, toolkits, the a-n magazine and many other resources of use to students of art and design; fine art; visual arts; design management textile design and public art.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access A-N Resources you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the A-N Resources licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art, Design and Architecture Collection, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art, Design and Architecture Collection licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture.
Can I access this resource?
To access Art and Architecture Archive you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Art and Architecture Archive licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Bibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABM provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Art Bibliographies Modern can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is an online database that indexes articles from art journals published throughout the world.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco databases licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Can I access this resource?
To access the Art and Architecture Archive, you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for the Art and Architecture Archive can be found below

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive collection of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .

For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. It holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines. The online collection contains 35,000 cartoon images.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Registration is required to create a collection of favourite cartoons which will be visible everytime you login. To use an image for 'non-commercial educational context in the UK' select Teesside University from the list of institutions and agree to the terms and conditions, you will then be prompted with a Shibboleth login screen, insert your ICT username and password.
Broadcast This link opens in a new window
Digital Editions of Broadcast from 1/10/1999 - Present
Can I access this resource?
To access Broadcast you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Broadcast can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Go-to resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest databases can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P)
Screen International This link opens in a new window
Digital editions of Screen International Magazine from 23/5/2013 to Present
Can I access this resource?
To access Screen International you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Screen International can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T) (This link opens in a new window)

Useful Databases for Conferences

Conference papers are included in the same online databases that also include journal articles, however, the most useful databases to search for conference papers are:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library provides access to the full-text of articles from journals and conference proceedings published by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery). This includes the SIGGRAPH series.
To access ACM Digital Library off campus select ‘Sign in’ followed by ‘Institutional Login’ and search for ‘Teesside University’, please enter your University email address and password.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ACM Digital Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the ACM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Search over 3 million full-text documents
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access IEEE Xplore you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the IEEE Xplore licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
GDC Vault This link opens in a new window
GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access GDC Vault go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access GDC Vault you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
GDC Vault Terms and Conditions
GDC Vault Privacy Policy

Useful Conference Links

ACM SIGGRAPH (Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques) Papers
These papers are published in the journal ACM Transactions on Graphics - part of ACM Digital Library
ACM SIGGRAPH News
For news about upcoming ACM SIGGRAPH conferences

If you are looking for business case studies, investment research, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles and current market information, then use the following resources:

Mintel Oxygen This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel is a marketing database containing detailed reports on current market information including subjects such as leisure, consumer goods, travel, retail and industrial reports. Reports can be downloaded or printed in sections.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ulitmate is a business database, providing bibliographic and full text content for many academic business journals back to 1886 . Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
WARC This link opens in a new window
Use for marketing data and for looking at current & future trends
Can I access this resource?
To access WARC you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic Staff
- A member of Teesside University Library Staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Your access to and use of the Services is restricted and is permitted for the Users’ own educational, research and academic purposes only except that your employees may use a reasonable amount of the Services into course or study packs for your students’ educational purposes. You may not designate any other individuals (including employees and individual contractors of your Affiliates) as Users. You agree not to permit any third-party to access the Services except as expressly authorized in a separate Third-Party Access Agreement provided by us. We will identify and authenticate Users by using IP addresses and/or ranges of IP addresses provided by you. Users may only access the Services via your secured network. You will make reasonable efforts to ensure that Users are aware of the rights and restrictions governing the access and use of the Services as contained in this Contract and that these rights and restriction are complied with. Immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized use or other breach by any User, you will inform us and take all reasonable and appropriate steps, including disciplinary action both to ensure that such activity ceases and to prevent any recurrence.
A copy of the full terms of the WARC licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Newspapers can be really useful primary sources for both up-to-date and historical research. They reflect the time period, the society and the culture in which they were published.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines.

Cover image for PC Gamer

NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.

Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a collection of over 210,000 books and other authoritative content to which we have full-text access. It covers multiple subject areas.
A short form may pop up asking you to indicate which School/Department you are in. Please pick from the drop-down list.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Please note that to download ebooks from Ebook Central you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your PC. If you want to access your downloaded content on multiple PCs or devices you will need to register for an Adobe ID - further guidance on this can be found on the EBook Central Help Site
If you are on campus, Digital Editions can be found in AppsAnywhere. You will need to open this software before attempting to download the book.
Can I access this resource?
To access E-Book Central you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the E-Book Central licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher Education includes books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
The library provides some e-book content via the VLeBooks platform.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access VLeBooks you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

eResources for computer games and animation techniques

eResources for Techniques

Do you want to improve your techniques in areas such as rigging, motion capture, drawing, animating and texturing?

Use the following resources to help develop your techniques.

Gnomon Workshop This link opens in a new window
With over 300 titles, The Gnomon Workshop library covers a myriad of subjects and techniques. Choose from lessons in design, drawing, painting, modeling, texturing, rigging, effects, and animation to create your desired path and learn at a pace that suits you. The Gnomon Workshop aims to supplement and guide artists’ journeys.
Accessing Gnomon Workshop
You do not need to log in to access Gnomon Workshop if you are on campus.
To log in off campus you will need to use your University email address and password to get access to the site but no further login is required.

Can I access this resource?
To access Gnomon Workshop you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for Gnomon Workshop can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)

Sway about why you should use Gnomon Workshop

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full screen version

Gnomon Workshop YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/@gnomonworkshop

GDC Vault This link opens in a new window
GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access GDC Vault go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access GDC Vault you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
GDC Vault Terms and Conditions
GDC Vault Privacy Policy
Rhino House This link opens in a new window
Rhino House provides video references to animators and artists. It covers the way in which creatures interact, behave, and move about, including the colours, textures, and shapes that make each species so unique.
It should inspire artists to produce extraordinary artwork... to create their own stage, characters, and story.
For information on how to access Rhino House go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access Rhino House you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Rhino House licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Why use Rhino House?

Stash This link opens in a new window
Online video library of animation, VFX and motion design
To search Stash
•Click on 'Library' followed by 'Login'

To get the best experience from this Sway, use the full screen version

Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Tutorials

Learn Unity with Tutorials
The tutorials are divided Projects - a set of step-based tutorials, and Topics dividing up additional lessons in more detail.
3dtotal tutorials
Featuring one of the largest collections of digital art tutorials online, 3dtotal is proud of its vast and extensive database of insightful, free to use content.