LibGuides: Media and Journalism: Books to Inform, Justify and Inspire

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Ebooks are electronic versions of books.

The library subscribes to a number of ebook collections, of which the most useful for Media and Journalism are:

O'Reilly for Higher Education
You can find relevant titles for Media, Public Relations and Journalism within the following topic areas: Visual Design, Film & Video, Television Production, Video Production, Photography, iMovie, Podcasts, Autodesk, Adobe Flash, User Stories, and Branding.
Books and videos can be read online but can only be downloaded via the O’Reilly mobile App which can be obtained from the App Store or Google Play.

For guidance on using O’Reilly please visit their help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/features The Platform Features and Content sections are especially useful

Can I access this resource?
To access O'Reilly for Higher Education you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the O'Reilly for Higher Education licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBook Central is a collection of over 100,000 books and other authoritative content to which we have full-text access. It covers multiple subject areas.
Please note that to download ebooks from Ebook Central you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your PC. If you want to access your downloaded content on multiple PCs or devices you will need to register for an Adobe ID - further guidance on this can be found on the EBook Central Help Site
If you are on campus, Digital Editions can be found in AppsAnywhere. You will need to open this software before attempting to download the book.
Can I access this resource?
To access E-Book Central you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the E-Book Central licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
The library provides some e-book content via the VLeBooks platform.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access VLeBooks you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or a member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.

For more help and advice on using e-books go to:

E-books@Tees

Open access resources for Media and Journalism

BCcampus Open Textbooks
Directory of Open Access Books
A searchable directory of over 1600 openly accessible academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers
LibreTexts
LibreTexts is an Open Textbook Project initiated at the University of California. Coverage includes sciences, social science, engineering, business, humanities, and more. To find the books, go to Explore the libraries, then choose the subject you are interested in and then click on bookshelves.
MERLOT Open Educational Resources
OER Commons
Open Research Library
Open Textbook Library