LibGuides: Media and Journalism: eResources for Inspiration, inc. Media Magazines

eResources for Inspiration

Inspire
Online Magazines via PressReader

Are you looking for ideas to inspire a creative project or do you want to use images, video or sound to enhance your assignments. The following resources could help you.

Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

Need help searching - contact your Art & Creative Industries Librarians. Details on the Home page

Please note that all resources are provided for educational use only.

Sight and Sound magazine
Sight and Sound is the British Film Institute's international film magazine, offering unrivalled insight into film culture with in-depth reviews, interviews and features exploring contemporary and historical cinema in all its variety.

How to browse the full content of Sight and Sound
Step-by-step instructions showing how to access the full image content, which is the same as the print version of the magazine

Broadcast This link opens in a new window
Digital Editions of Broadcast from 1/10/1999 - Present
Can I access this resource?
To access Broadcast you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Broadcast can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Screen International This link opens in a new window
Digital editions of Screen International Magazine from 23/5/2013 to Present
Can I access this resource?
To access Screen International you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Screen International can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T) (This link opens in a new window)
Campaign UK This link opens in a new window
Serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.
Logging in to Campaign
To Gain access, you will need to register with Campaign using your Teesside University email address - personal email addresses will not work.
To register use your Teesside University email address and select a unique password. You will receive a 'Welcome' email meaning your account is set up, and you do not need to complete the 'About You' page for access. If you choose to, enter 'Teesside University', 'Student/Academic' and 'Education' where applicable.
By signing up to this site you will be supplying personal data to Haymarket and should ensure that you are comfortable with their privacy notice (below)
Privacy Notice (This link opens in a new window)
NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Today’s media studies and journalism students need access to credible, vetted, current and archived news sources. With a comprehensive global, digital news collection, students can:
Gain multiple perspectives on important issues and events
Understand the evolution of a news story by tracking the coverage over time
Compare and contrast journalistic styles
Analyze the impact of media on public opinion
Review coverage from across the globe
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts licence can be found below.

List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Practice makes perfect - where visual inspiration meets practical advice across the visual and creative disciplines. A trainer from Bloomsbury gives a demonstration on how to use Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts. This video with captions has a duration of 14 minutes.

WGSN - Fashion This link opens in a new window
By predicting the trends of tomorrow, WGSN Fashion helps the world’s largest retailers, brands and manufacturers lead with confidence.
Can I access this resource?
To access WGSN you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the WGSN licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels including an archive of over 2 million programmes.
Registration
Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. The purpose of registration is for access error reports and account migration.

Can I access this resource?
To access Box of Broadcasts (BoB), you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate based in the UK
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups, then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Why use Box of Broadcasts?

News on Screen This link opens in a new window
Screen Online This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access is not possible for this database
British Library Sounds This link opens in a new window
Can I access this resource?
To access British Library Sounds Service you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of Licenced Material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the British Library Sounds Service licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Visit the Copyright LibGuide for guidance on using sources in your work.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)

Total Film (Online via PressReader)

Empire (Online via PressReader)

Variety (Online via PressReader)

The Hollywood Reporter (Online via PressReader)