Skip to main content

Psychology

How to find journal articles

Do you want to find journal articles on a topic or look for a specific article?

Use Discovery - input your topic or the details of a journal article to search across most of the Library's resources

Discovery

Search for journal articles
More search options

If you have a journal title use Journal Finder to check if the Library has access to full text.

Journal Finder

If you know the name of a Journal, enter the title here to check if it's available in the Library

 

 

To link through to a complete list of e-journals: A-Z list

What are journals?

They are:Journals

  • like magazines but of a scholarly nature
  • published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
  • contain articles on a variety of topics
  • the articles are written by different authors
  • sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
  • in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

  • journal time is much quicker than for a book
  • using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
  • journals articles are more specific than books.  They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
  • subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
  • quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What is scholarly/peer reviewed?

  • Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
  • Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
  • Longer articles, heavily text based
  • Charts, tables, statistics and images
  • Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Click on the link below to access a list of e-journal titles. Then click on the titles to view the Library's holdings.  To access the e-journals off campus use your IT username and password.

Databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are specific psychological databases. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For more health related databases, social sciences or criminological databases see the list under the relevant tabs in this box.

For a list of general databases covering different subject areas - which will still be very useful for psychology - see the General databases tab.

For help searching the databases contact your Psychology librarians. Details on the Home page

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only 

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only 

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only 

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only 

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only 

Evaluating your results

Using online databases to find information isn't the end of the story, you also need to be able to judge how relevant your results are. Recent research has found that some students struggle with this.

Other useful resources

Tip

Some students think that everything they find searching an online database is available through the Library. In fact the results are not a list of items available at Teesside University, you need to use the  button to discover whether the library does have access to the article electronically or in print.